We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but restaurant staff inattentive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Goudhurst Inn

The Goudhurst Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Goudhurst Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Goudhurst
Price range: US$6 - US$43
Cuisines: Pizza, Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Under new ownership since April 2015, The Goudhurst Inn is now part of Hush Heath Hospitality which also owns Hush Heath Estate & Winery among other venues. After a full refurbishment both inside and out, The Goudhurst Inn now offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. We have also created 4 beautiful boutique hotel rooms with luxury and comfort in mind. Our menu features traditional pub classics as well as more elegant, refined dishes all made using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients The bar area offers a more relaxed dining environment while The Conservatory and The Hush Heath Room are that bit more formal with wonderful views of the Weald of Kent and a regularly changing A La Carte menu. We also offer a fixed price menu for lunch and dinner from Monday to Friday 12noon-3pm and Monday to Thursday 6pm-9.30pm inclusive. Outside, a large terrace and garden area offers a perfect place to enjoy pizza from our dedicated Pizza Shack which houses a professional wood-fired clay oven for really authentic pizza. Pizzas are available all day to eat in or take away. A kids menu is also available and often kids eat free on special promotional weekends. Breakfast is served in The Conservatory from 8am. The bar has an English Wine focus serving all the wines and ciders of Hush Heath Estate by the glass and bottle. We also have an enviable and eclectic wine and craft beer list from around the world as well as the best in spirits and whiskeys.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but restaurant staff inattentive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Food was great, and the bar staff were helpful and cheerful, but the male waiting staff all seemed to be dull and inattentive, it took so long for dirty plates to be cleared and catching attention was difficult.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 64461A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    114
    97
    54
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our daughters wedding was held at the goudhurst inn on 17th May,
With huge thanks to Lois and all the wonderful staff they really helped to make it such a special day for everybody.
From the moment the bride and Groom and all the guests arrived the staff were attentive, polite and could not have been more helpful.
The food was outstanding, the whole day and evening were fantastic with thanks to you all.
We will with many of the guests that attended return to eat and drink at the goudhurst inn with many fond memories.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious but disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The last time we went to this restaurant it was under different ownership, and the service was so bad that we swore we wouldn't go back. But with the new owners, a facelift, and great comments locally, we decided to see for ourselves. The food was great, I think we all enjoyed our dishes - and that's probably an understatement. But unfortunately the service was absolutely appalling.....we waited for long periods, drinks which we'd ordered were forgotten, the list goes on and on. It was such a shame, because the food and company were brilliant, and we had a fun night, but unfortunately the service has probably lost the Goudhurst Inn six customers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great scotch eggs & Yorkshire puddings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Popped into this pub restaurant on a Sunday afternoon on the off chance they would still be serving food. They had some good real ale on Harvey's Sussex and Timothy Taylor to name a couple. We tried their scotch egg starter, this was lovely and the yolk still runny. My husband had the pigeon breast starter which was tender and different. The roast beef and Yorkshire pudding was very tasty. In fact the Yorkshire pudding was the best I'd ever tasted. Portion size was just right and service was fine. The staff were pleasant and the ambience was comfortable and welcoming. The prices weren't cheap, a starter was around £7.95 and the roast was about £13.95 but you get what you pay for and the quality was good.

An enjoyable lunch was had by all and we will definitely return at some point.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Have been here before with friends and had a decent Sunday roast. This time we came early evening on a Monday but it was really not a great experience food-wise.
I had chicken as apparently it was some sort of chicken night. Well I really struggle to remember being served such incredibly bland meat - there just didn't seem to be any attempt at seasoning or flavour. The accounting 'hot sauce' had heat but no real flavour. Nando's would have been better! My partner's burger was apparently ok but we both felt prices were steep. Our chips were really undercooked - not what you'd expect from a pub! The table next to us were complaining to the waitress about their pork belly so looks like we weren't the only ones disappointed.

On the plus side the pub is quite nicely decorated, a picturesque setting and moderately welcoming to small children. They have some interesting beers and I tried a local champagne cider which was divine.

I'd probably return for a drink if passing as the garden had a stunning view of the open countryside, but wouldn't explore food beyond roast after this experience.

I hope the management will read the comments on here and take note - they need to up their game.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StaraFurzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Goudhurst Inn also viewed

 
Sissinghurst, Kent
 

Been to The Goudhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing