We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip back in time”

Finchcocks Living Museum of Music
KentUK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trip back in time”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We went on Sunday and timed it just right for the start of the music demonstartion approx 2.45pm we listened to pieces on several keyboards and a very good lady soprano singer accompanied as well. After the musical demonstration you could wander the rest of the museum play the instruments if you wanted and walk the gardens. Then it was time for the second musical demonstration which went from a piece from the Beggars Opera, a cello and piano piece followed by jazz, wonderful. I am so pleased we visited the players and singers showed their love of the instruments and music and it was funny as well. I can't sing or play, you don't need to just enjoy this.
The gardens and worth a vist as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Sadly closed on a Sat. afternoon, but beautiful”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We turned up without checking opening times, so couldn't get into the house itself, but a very friendly person invited us to go around the beautiful grounds anyway. Splendid great Queen Anne mansion, and I know the museum of keyboard instruments is magnificent from past visits. Allow a good 2 hours for a proper visit, which will include the owner, Richard Burnett, giving a concert on several of the keyboard instruments in the collection. It's very entertaining! The shop has a great selection of music-related goods.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyree13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fascinating collection of keyboards”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Make sure that you time your visit for one of the musical demonstrations. And enjoy a really refreshing cuppa in the undercroft tea room!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stonehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Full-on music”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The range of historic instruments is extraordinary - and to hear them played is the best bit. Any pianist should make this a must, but it is not always open - check times!

Helpful?
1 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Third visit to finchcocks”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

What an unusual and interesting find Finchcocks is. I wish more people knew about it. I found out some years ago only because someone took me there on a visit. Richard Burnett who, in his time was a concert pianist, owns and runs this venture with the help of some very versatile and interesting musicians. The Sunday afternoon openings are a general look around the beautiful and historic rooms, with instruments and mechanical musical contraptions of various sorts that you are encouraged to play. I wish I'd sampled the lunch since another reviewer has said it was amazing. On the last two visits there was tea and cakes in the interval, cooked (as Richard says) by the local worthy ladies. You get the impression that much of what Richard and his team do is also for their own amusement! He is a fantastic host, so knowledgeable about early keyboard instruments, and so very amusing. Musicians come from many miles away to entertain at his Sunday afternoon sessions. This time it was a fabulous flautist and her pianist husband from Norfolk. There was a bit of jazz too, and a young singer accompanied by the piano restorer and the man from the Finchcock's shop playing the bongos expertly. That's the kind of place it is!! You can have a walk around the gardens in the intervals between two concerts, or look at the instruments in the upstairs rooms, and even have a go on them. There is a charity "previously loved" music score sale too. The proceeds go to the scheme to help young people develop their musical talent. In 2005 (I think) Richard Burnett was awarded an MBE, though he doesn't tell you that. If you care to stay on, there are sometimes concerts in the evening, played on these splendid early instruments. Richard is advancing in years and doesn't find it so easy to move about these days, but he is still the same sharp witted, congenial and expert muscician he was when I visited the first time. Fabulous afternoon. Very entertaining. makes you want to go home and practice all those pieces on the piano that you've let slip!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finchcocks Living Museum of Music also viewed

 
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Finchcocks Living Museum of Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing