We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful”

Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Goudhurst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bedgebury National Pinetum & Forest in the High Weald of Kent is the perfect place for healthy outdoor activity. Open all year, Bedgebury Forest covers around 20,000 square metres of forest and features trails for family cycling, mountain-biking, Go Ape, horse riding, walking and adventure play for all ages and abilities. The National Pinetum contains the world's leading collection of conifers and is a beautiful setting for walks and picnics in all seasons, surrounded by lakes, streams, rolling hills and wide avenues. A network of paths throughout enables easy access for all levels of ability.The Visitor Centre features a visitor Information office, cafe, toilets, bike hire, showers for bikes and riders, and an education/community room.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to: wear out kids; have a picnic; take a walk; knacker yourself out on a bike or just sit and think. Never the same twice as the trees change seasonally - displaying some of their wonderful colours making it one of my favourite places to go.

Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted you enjoy all that Bedgebury has to offer. Bedgebury does indeed offer something for everyone from adventurous play, challenging mountain biking and safe family cycling to the peace and beauty of the National Pinetum - a gem at all times of the year.
Hope to see you again soon.
Thank you. Mark Clixby. Recreation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 418 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went down to Bedgebury to have a go at that Mountain bike trails. Didn't last very long on them, before having to revert to the family trail. Need to get training on how to do mountain bike trails. Thoroughly recommended though.
Would have liked to have seen the black trails, after seeing the the difficulty of the red trails.

Thank Mumble_Swerve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. The mountain bike trails are designed to be fun and challenging and indeed many visitors ride them on a regular basis. We are currently working on our Development Plan and working hard to finish the upgrade and development of the sections over the coming months - making them even more sustainable, fun and challenging. They will also be usable all year round, making Bedgebury a great site for all the seasons.
Hope to see you on the trails soon.
Thank you. Mark Clixby. Recreation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Brilliant and tiring fun on their single track. A couple of signposts missing resulting in a climb that didn't need climbing (!!) and a couple of closed rides made it a 'very good' rather than an 'excellent'. Be aware of a hefty car park fee- but then they need to maintain it. The little cafe was good but a wee bit grubby. They were very busy in fairness. Didn't stop me eating the cake either.

Thank Lothlorienlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your cycle ride. We currently have a small number of sections closed as they are being developed as part of a £100,000 development project that we started in 2012. Our contractor is currently on site and we hope that the works to upgrade the trails will be completed in 2014.
The parking charge is also your admission fee to Bedgebury and is all re-invested back into the site. This money helps to maintain/develop the host of facilities, provide educational programmes and protect/enhance the important conservation and research work carried out by the National Pinetum.
The admission fee is per vehicle and allows a number of people entry to this beautiful, fun and important site.
We are currently working on plans to develop the catering offer at Bedgebury and hope to have this project completed in the spring of 2015.
Thank you.
Mark Clixby, Recreation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Finally visited bedgebury after years of saying I would. What a fantastic place to visit. Absolutely bwautiful. Only complaint was the price of parking.

Also got to listen to paul weller sound checking

Thank Rikt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks you for your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bedgebury. The parking charge is also your admission fee to Bedgebury and is all re-invested back into the site. This money helps to maintain/develop the host of facilities, provide educational programmes and protect/enhance the important conservation and research work carried out by the National Pinetum.
The admission fee is per vehicle and allows a number of people entry to this beautiful, fun and important site.
Thank you.
Mark Clixby, Recreation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We used to go here when our children were young and you could park the car for free have a picnic near your car while the children played on the grass then for a small fee you could walk around the lovely pinetum now its overcrowded walk miles carrying stuff if you want a picnic dogs must be on leads as there are cycle trails everywhere such a shame its now overcrowded £9.50 to park so you can't just go for a couple of hours soooo disappinting

1  Thank Ollie649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Bedgebury has indeed changed a lot over the last 10 years. We are now able to offer much more for visitors to enjoy here, whilst at the same time enhancing the important conservation work that we do with the National Pinetum.
Dogs only need to be on leads within the National Pinetum and the play areas; they can be off the lead, but under control in the rest of the 2000 acre forest.
Whilst Bedgebury does get busy, it is such a large site that there are always places within walking distance where visitors can enjoy the peace and quiet.
The admission fee is all re-invested back into the site and as it is per vehicle visitors can bring any number of people with them for the £9.50. The admission fee helps to maintain/develop the host of facilities, provide educational programmes and protect/enhance the important conservation and research work carried out by the National Pinetum.
Thank you
Mark Clixby. Recreation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing