We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs loving hands to take the hotel facilities to a better level”
Review of Star & Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Star & Eagle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goudhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Needs loving hands to take the hotel facilities to a better level”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for one night. First of all, let me say that the staff knocked themselves out to be helpful. No request was too much. This is very special in a world of hotels that have staff members unwilling or not encouraged to engage with the guests and take responsibility for making their stays memorable. Our room was spacious, but the furnishings were tired and the room dusty. The bathroom was poorly laid out for ease of use and lighting throughout the bath and bed rooms was poor. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Breakfast was very nice.
With such a fine staff, it seems that it would be worthwhile to pour a bit of money into upgrading the rooms to a new level of comfort and attractiveness. Your customers would thank you!
Don't miss the church next door for more about the story of the 'Hawkhurst Gang'!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bags Packed to Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    45
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
77
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Star and Eagle has indoubtedly some great vantage points: the location at the top of a beautiful historic village, right next to the village church, is clearly charming and so is the historic Inn itself. We stayed for two nights and had a lovely room at the back with good views of the countryside. Must say that the bathroom should have been cleaner. Sleep quality was good. We feared the restaurant and pub noise, but when dinnertime is over, the place turns quiet. We also had dinner on both nights, which was rather average and too expensive for the quality offered. There are other dining options in town and a nice local pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frome99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We realy liked our stay in the star and eagle. Very old builing with a lot of charme. Very pleasant staff and very good food. A good spot to for to stay een view nights of for a stop over. Also a nice bar where we have had the diner. The duvet was much too thick for the summer, so it was very warm te sleep. Wifi didn't work in room nr. 1

Room Tip: Good food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant stay in a quaint central village hotel. The welcome was both friendly and very helpful. The room very clean and amazingly quiet when considering that the main A road and a very difficult and tricky bend, particularly for large trailers and lorries, right outside.

Access to the room was certainly as quirky as previous reports but really not a problem, unless you have a bad back, and learn very quickly where the means and low doors are!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After a drink at the bar all 4 of us had a starter which was very nice, after quite a long wait our mains arrived my partner and I shared ours of venison burger & mussels with fries which I hasten to add was ok.
We had another drink, my daughter chose a baileys coffee which we were charged separately for prices for bailey & price for coffee very expensive way of doing it but we were warned this was an expensive place.unfortunately early hours next day my partner and I were very ill sickness and diarrhoea we emailed the restaurant and were fobbed of with we must have been ill before no real response or offer of goodwill . Obviously won't be returning

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angiebrogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin M, Owner at Star & Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
I suppose you have been waiting for the money to arrive. I suppose I should have paid you to keep my good name intact. Unfortunatly I dont give in to blackmail. Your concerns were reported to the area heath officer and like myself suggested you go to your doctor to have some tests to establish the type of poisoning you had but you refused. Since not one single person was ill with the mussels that arrived that day or any other food cooked on my premises and your bottom line was money it was viewed that this was a hoax.I will take it on the chin. I dont give into being bullied under any circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were two couples, booked in for two nights. If you like uniformity and modernity, this is not for you. This is an ancient building with undulating floors, thick walls and lots of nooks and crannies. Bedrooms are off a long, low-beamed corridor. Ours was at the very end and our bed was a half-tester. Our companions had a twin room with views over ancient rooftops to the countryside. En-suites have been fitted in wherever there was adequate space and the rooms are all different. Our first evening meal was in the dining room, where the menu gave a good choice for each course. On the second evening we had a drink at one of the tables outside, then found that we could have our meal there rather than inside, which was very welcome, considering the unseasonal heat. Breakfasts were excellent too - but the most impressive part of the Star and Eagle has to be the staff. They are, to a man, (and woman!) welcoming, cheerful and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We look forward to returning before too long.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoyKwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel makes you feel like you are a part of history. My 6'4" husband said it was built for hobbits as the passage way to our room was long, narrow and very low ceilinged. The room itself was very comfortable with exposed beams and a human sized bathroom. The bed was a bit too soft but otherwise no complaints. We were in Room 10 overlooking the street but were not bothered by noise. We were fortunate to have beautiful weather so had our delicious fish and chips dinner on the back patio overlooking the countryside. Lovely! Service was a bit slow but very friendly and cheerful. Full English breakfast comes with the room served in the ancient Refectory. Lovely 900 year old church next door is worth a visit. Also close to Sissinghurst Gardens and Castle which are not to be missed, Hever Castle, Penshurst, Chartwell and many other manor houses and castles. Kent is so beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CullenH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goudhurst
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
299 reviews
3.2 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
20 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
6.8 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
10.1 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star & Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star & Eagle Hotel

Property: Star & Eagle Hotel
Address: High Street, Goudhurst TN17 1AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Goudhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goudhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Star & Eagle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star & Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star And Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel Goudhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing