We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Goudhurst” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star & Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Star & Eagle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goudhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island
1 review
“Good hotel in Goudhurst”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is very nice and peacefull hotel. If you need to relax, it's a place for you! It's quiet and accessible. Once you are in Goudhurst, you can't miss it. The food and service is good quality. The room and the hotel are charming, if you like old building and history you will be served.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    45
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
74
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kistelek, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Star and Eagle is set in a fantastic location and everything about the hotel is pretty well faultless! Friendly and efficient staff and delicious food too!The room was spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable!A beautiful majestic hotel with a lot of character!

I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: take Room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NU86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This place could have been a 5 on some counts, a 3 on others. Lovely spot at the top of the village next to the church. I think on a bright summers day there would be gorgeous views across the surrounding countryside. I would echo what other reviewers have said that the staff are really helpful and service is excellent. The food was fine. My room had a very comfortable bed, but was a little dated. It was also a little noisy on the evening and from the boiler/generator on the morning - i was up early, so this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruairi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I cannot rate the Star and Eagle highly enough..... we have been looked after so well during our stay, the staff are wonderful.. so friendly and helpful, nothing has been too much trouble to them. The food is delicious and very well presented. My room was lovely and everything was very clean and well looked after.

Would definitely stay here again... be it for business reasons or a personal holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Christmas break 2013, after recommendations by friends in Kent.On arrival we parked out front,and when we tried to bring cases in the front door to reception desk the door was locked ,so we were told to use the bar entrance and walk through eating area.As the dining area was busy it was awkward getting past tables with our small cases and suit bags and one table near the door kept tutting! When we got to the room, the standard of the bathroom was very poor cracked tiles to the bath and dusty carpeting.Breakfast was good and waitress very nice. Won't be recommending or using again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanorah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for one night. First of all, let me say that the staff knocked themselves out to be helpful. No request was too much. This is very special in a world of hotels that have staff members unwilling or not encouraged to engage with the guests and take responsibility for making their stays memorable. Our room was spacious, but the furnishings were tired and the room dusty. The bathroom was poorly laid out for ease of use and lighting throughout the bath and bed rooms was poor. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Breakfast was very nice.
With such a fine staff, it seems that it would be worthwhile to pour a bit of money into upgrading the rooms to a new level of comfort and attractiveness. Your customers would thank you!
Don't miss the church next door for more about the story of the 'Hawkhurst Gang'!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bags Packed to Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Star and Eagle has indoubtedly some great vantage points: the location at the top of a beautiful historic village, right next to the village church, is clearly charming and so is the historic Inn itself. We stayed for two nights and had a lovely room at the back with good views of the countryside. Must say that the bathroom should have been cleaner. Sleep quality was good. We feared the restaurant and pub noise, but when dinnertime is over, the place turns quiet. We also had dinner on both nights, which was rather average and too expensive for the quality offered. There are other dining options in town and a nice local pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frome99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goudhurst
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
10.1 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
6.3 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
8.2 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
8.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star & Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star & Eagle Hotel

Property: Star & Eagle Hotel
Address: The Star & Eagle Hotel High Street, Goudhurst TN17 1AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Goudhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goudhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Star & Eagle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Star & Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star And Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel Goudhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing