We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Place”
Review of Evening Tide

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herne Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evening Tide
Ranked #1 of 10 Herne Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Place”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is the first time I have written a comment on trip advisor. But this has to be the best B & B I have stayed in, within this area. After making this my third visit to Evening Tide (a last minute booking just days beforehand), I can only say it gets better each time I have stayed there. Spotless rooms throughout, plus Colleen's breakfasts that keep you going all day without another meal until the evening.

It was checking out day that really brought to light Eric & Colleen's hospitality, by looking after my luggage until late afternoon. Allowing me a few hours around town, before collecting these and moving on to another B & B further down the coast (with a 3pm onwards check in time). Saving a lot of hassle dragging 2 cases around town, and not charging a penny for this, though the offer to pay was made, honestly! Establishments do charge for this service up to £10 or more in some cases.

It is good people like this that makes some B & B's to stand out from others, or words to that effect. I for one will be staying at the Evening Tide again, and would thoroughly recommend this for other people to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    29
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
129
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our second visit to this welcoming, very clean and comfortable guest house. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay as much as last year. Breakfasts are well cooked and with a good choice of menu. Ideal position and easy access to Canterbury and nearby resorts. Eric and Colleen are excellent hosts and we hope to be back next year.

Terry and Isabel Webb

Room Tip: Front rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed for a week at Evening Tide B&B, very comfortable and very clean. Eric and Colleen excellent hosts. Great breakfasts with good choice. On the seafront but quiet location. Herne Bay is within easy reach of Canterbury, Whitstable and Ramsgate. I recommend this B and B.

Room Tip: Tip... if you are in any way disabled mention this when booking or you may find your self on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A lovely Guest House, friendly hosts, spotlessly clean, and great breakfasts. Positioned right on the sea front. Herne Bay is ideal for a quiet holiday but within easy distance of other resorts and a few miles from beautiful Canterbury.

Room Tip: Unless you want a family room request one on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Evening Tide The room was very clean & comfortable & the breakfast
Was was excellent all freshly cooked to order I would recommend this B & B It is right on the seafront in a very good location

Room Tip: I would recommend Evening tide
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Splendid B&B in a great location by the sea.

Practicalities – plenty of parking along the sea front – you have to pay until 1800 and after 0830 but the machines carry over any money paid until the next morning so no need to get up early to move the car. I think we paid a couple of quid to park. It’s located right on the sea front so turn right out the door and you’ll find the Wetherspoons and the excellent Divers Arms within 100 yards. So plenty of eating and drinking opportunities. Fast wifi.

As other have said, it’s in immaculate condition and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast, plenty to eat and good range of options. Good range of quality toiletries and nice touches like chocs in the room.

I can’t fault this place, easy to park and top quality – the owners clearly care about this place and it shows. We will return, it’s a bit off track for a stop-over on the way to Dover but worth it and far preferable to a chain hotel on the A2. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g4shf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A perfect place to stay. Rooms immaculate, modern and well-equipped. Standard of service is 5 star throughout. VERY highly recommended. We stayed for 3 nights and found it one of the most comfortable and quiet places we have ever stayed. We had a sea view room which was a sheer delight.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herne Bay
3.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
850 reviews
5.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
375 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
11.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evening Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Tide

Property: Evening Tide
Address: 97 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Herne Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Herne Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — Evening Tide 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Evening Tide Herne Bay, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing