We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Summerhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herne Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhouse
Ranked #7 of 11 Herne Bay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights. Summerhouse is very clean and the room was perfect. Christine was very obliging and knowledgeable. Tasty homemade breakfast in lovely setting. Good location for herne bay Reculver and Whitstable . A very pleasant 2 days.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teenapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    13
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
79
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend in Summerhouse and all we can say is that we had fantastic days. Our room was absolutely brilliant, spacious, sweet decoration, tidy and the views really relaxing. Christine was very welcoming from the very beginning,offering assistance at any time, giving advises about the places to visit and she even asked us what time would be more suitable for us to have breakfast. The breakfast room is facing a wonderful garden and the meal couldn´t be better!!! The bread is house-made, coffee recently made, either English and continental breakfast specially warm and delicious, which doesn´t happen in any other place where it is made from hours before.
If you would like to enjoy a quiet and friendly time at Herne Bay We could´t recommend a best place to stay :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

John and Chris couln't have been more welcoming even offering to make tea on our arrival. The room was large and comfortable and over looked their beautiful garden. Breakfast was superb and served in their lovely conservatory. As my wife is asthmatic Chris had substituted all the bedding materials with synthetic alternatives. Their home is set in a very quiet turning. Bliss !!! We will be returning for another holiday soon and can't recommend them highly enough. Dont miss out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beltinge, located on the East side of Herne Bay is a pretty village with a good array of shops and great coastal walks nearby.

Christine was very helpful sending a handy guide beforehand with a wealth of useful information including restaurants and taxi numbers so we well organised for our stay.

Per previous reviews, our spacious and very comfortable room quickly made us feel relaxed and at home.

Our cooked breakfasts were superb with generous portions and all made to order. Lovely fresh fruit too. We appreciated the personal touches of decorative table linen and napkins.

Excellent value, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The twin bed room overlooks the stunning garden, is very spacious and very well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyanmagenta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed two nights at the Summerhouse in Herne Bay (30/5/14-1/06/14) and we were made to feel like it was our home away from home. Christine, her husband and beautiful dog are very welcoming and the breakfasts are great with fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and a full English all available as well as delicious home made bread. The B&B is located on a quiet street; we had the red room, which is a huge room with a large comfy bed and separate table and chairs with tea and coffee making facilities and our own bathroom with shower over bath. The room got all day sun, which was great! We enjoyed walks and runs along the seafront each morning and could not have asked for better weather. We would definitely recommend the Summerhouse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelley30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 24-25/5/2014 and was very impressed.
Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The ensuite was spacious with a bath and shower.
Breakfast was great. Full English, toast, cereal, fruit and yoghurt were all available. Totally recommend the sausages!
The owners were very friendly and attentive but not overly so.
Would love to stay here again. Thoroughly recommend. :-D

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClairelouiseandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Summerhouse 3/5/2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it the room was lovely & had everything you needed. an abundance of tea & coffee the bed was very comfy & everything spotless. Pasha is an adorable big softy. we could of parked on the drive was room but parked on the road which wasn't a problem breakfast excellent stayed in a lot of B&B over the years this one takes some beating.thank you Donna & Nick Taylor x

Room Tip: We had the room at the front of the house think was the coral room was quiet & nice & dark w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herne Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westgrange House B & B
Westgrange House B & B
#11 of 11 in Herne Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhouse

Property: Summerhouse
Address: 15 Glenbervie Drive, Herne Bay CT6 6QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Herne Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Herne Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhouse Bed and Breakfast has been awarded 4 stars by the Visit Britain Tourist Board. Summerhouse is an exceptional house in a quiet location, 200 yards from stunning clifftop walks. We are also only 1 mile away from the traditional English seaside town of Herne Bay. You will always receive a friendly and sincere welcome from Christine who takes pride in her establishment and also endeavor to ensure guests have a wonderful time during their stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhouse Herne Bay, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing