We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice breakfast”

The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon
Ranked #92 of 137 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Had a family breakfast here and I'd say it is on a par with other Wetherspoons we've visited - and handy for the seafront - we were lucky and got a parking space right out front.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElysianRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    60
    48
    20
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
153 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Go with low expectations.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Wetherspoons seem to vary from the family friendly bland but safe enough place to grab a pint and something to eat for not very much to scary hang outs for drunk and aggressive hardened drinkers. I'd hoped this was the former when I agreed to meet friends for lunch.

The place is a little run down, and not the cleanest Wetherspoons I've been in, but I was prepared to overlook that. The bar was understaffed so I wasn't overly surprised that the service wasn't that friendly. There was an extensive beer selection, and to be fair the beer was reasonably well kept. The rather long wait for food did give us time to fully appreciate the growing hostile atmosphere from one group of customers at the front of the pub who had presumably been there since opening time by the state they were in (this was around 1.30 in the afternoon). Food when it arrived was edible, but nothing special.

I won't be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Man_about_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict for breakfast very very good”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Usually go to a another chain store for their famous Eggs Benedict, M & ? in Canterbury. Notice from a pop up advert at the bra that Wetherspoons had it on their breakfast menu. Went next morning and very happy I did. The Pub is really quite nice during the morning, quite a few families eating full english breakfasts and a very nice atmosphere. My breakfast was delivered within 10 mins and by very friendly and helpful staff. Coffee was not to my liking buy hey thats not what I went there foe. Have returned several times for the EB and always the same. VERY VERY GOOD

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“lovely food but not enough staff”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we love the food here and come and eat really often. what we find time and time again is that there is mostly only one person serving at the bar..2 on an odd occasion so there is a long wait to be served! on the specialities nights I think there should be at least 3 staff serving!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch in Herne Bay”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It did what it said on the tin, fed and watered 4 adults for £30. The food was to a good standard. My Aberdeen Angus was excellent. It did however feel a bit run down, the Staff were Ok. I have been in many better Wetherspoons. If you want food and a drink good choice, if you want anything else try another pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harlequinsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon also viewed

 

Been to The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing