We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal and service”

Mortimers Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 137 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Kent UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice meal and service”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First time at this restaurant which we have been promising to visit since moving to Herne Bay several years ago. I had a roast beef dinner and my wife beef pie both with a nice selection of veg.
Good portions and nicely cooked, hot and tasty. We will be returning and thoroughly reccommed this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RSC&JCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments on our food and service.We do strive to provide freshly cooked food and provide a friendly but professional service.We're glad you ventured out and tried us, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    35
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely home cooked food and friendly staff, what more do you need?”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times and each time the staff have been very friendly and helpful and the food has been fantastic.. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, we do aim to provide a homely , family atmosphere with good home cooked fresh food.
We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us and look foreward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Caring Service”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Mortimers is exactly what you want from a friendly local restaurant,and a greta place to visit if you are searching the junk and antique shops of Herne Bay.
Caring kind service, good food, and good value. It reminds me a bit of a Victoria Wood sketch. and is a bit "Cake or Pastry Madam" as the decor is the classic 50/60's original but that is a big plus point... The staff work really hard and were kind to my mum, the toastie and soup we had were great..the coffee for some reason was watery..though they have real beans.. so maybe get a barista in to give you some tips ?. .but 5 Stars Thankyou

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dornfordyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, We aim to provide a warm & friendly homely experience from our family restaurant.Comments such as yours convince us that we are on the right track.
Hope you see you and your mother again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food Good service”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Whenever I travel to Herne Bay I always ensure that I have at least one visit to Mortimers for Breakfast and on one occasion for Lunch. The food is all home cooked and whether its a good English Breakfast or a roast dinner you will not be disappointed. Add to that the decor, Ambiance, and friendly staff and you have the perfect place to stop and eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm110266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.It's always a pleasure to recieve such positive comments about the food, ambiance and service that we provide.We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Herne Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is the second year my family have gone to Mortimers for Mother's Day lunch and it was just as wonderful this year as it was last year. The atmosphere is welcoming and the staff are very family friendly, everything my children asked for was provided with no hesitation. The service was excellent, the wait staff are friendly and efficient and the food was served quickly and hot. The portions are plentiful and the quality is right up there too. Not at all a case of quantity over quality. On the other end of the scale we have also "popped in" for an ice cream and a drink and it was equally as pleasant an experience. My daughters really enjoy going here and you are always welcomed with a smile. We love Mortimers! A family run business where you feel part of the family weather your having a 3 course meal or an a quick coffee when out shopping.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalierose85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review. It's nice to hear from customers when they enjoy our food and the atmosphere on Mothers day was just as it should be for us and so many of our customers thanked us for a nice lunch.
We look forward to you visiting us again.
Regards
Richard, Chantal and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mortimers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mortimers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing