We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe we hadn't been before now. Will be going back to The Wine Bar”
Review of The Wine Bar

The Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 141 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$29
Cuisines: British, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a cosy, friendly basement bar/restaurant. We serve a lunch time menu including a TAPA's menu too. May to October(11.30 to 3pm), and an evening menu (thurs, fri & sat, 7pm to 9pm.Sunday 12pm to 5pm)). We try and use fresh local produce wherever possible. Fresh fish, mature steak and lots more. We are also available for private functions, we can cater for up to 22 sit down, or up to 60 people with hot and cold buffet.
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We are local to herne bay but have never used the wine bar for a drink or food.
We went for a bike ride and my husbands sister said try the wine bar, so we did!
It's been a very windy day today but we parked up and sat outside.
Lovely location and has a nice romantic feel about it.(even though we were out on the bikes and there for a quick lunch )
I have no bad points nor anything negative to write.
Drinks lovely. Food lovely. And most importantly for us, the owner (Lisa?), she knows how to be a hostess. It really does make the difference. Very welcoming and knowledgable. Fantastic.
We will be returning and we will be recommending to friends and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank comeflywithme1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again really soon. Oh and by the way there are new 'Bike Stands' just put in outside The Wine Bar :) Thank you again, kind regards Lisa & Tony x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

called into the wine bar today for lunch and was greeted by the warmest welcome you could want
had a couple of drinks and a tuna and salad baguette,was very fresh,read the menu and all food is fresh,homemade food and will defiantly be returning for a meal next time
many thanks wine bar x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
1  Thank CIDER4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Lisa & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have eaten in the Wine bar a good few times now and love it.

The food is always (on the times I have been there) excellent. it's a little gem of a place with friendly staff and customers. I recommend their stake and also Lamb Shanks if available, as the menu changes regularly, another excellent sign.

Yep, I would suggest it's more than worth a visit.

1  Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the Skate. All our fish are freshly caught and prep'd on premises. We hope to see you very soon,

Kind regards,

Lia & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Went here at the weekend with friends and all we can say is this place is FANTASTIC and so are Lisa and Tony who run it. We went here for a drink in the afternoon and then booked a table for the evening and I'm so glad we did as the food, atmosphere and people were outstanding, we are so glad we read the tripadvisor reviews and tried it for ourselves. We will be returning VERY soon without doubt, thankyou for such a great night with outstanding food.

Thank ashmanafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you again, kind regards Lisa & Tony x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We always enjoy our visit to The Wine Bar. We are greeted like old friends and the atmosphere is always nicely buzzy. Food is terrific. I love the salads and especially the hand cooked chips. We've dined both lunch times and evenings and never been disappointed. So glad we have such a great place in Herne Bay. Keep up the good work Lisa and Tony.

Thank HoneymoonerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to read, Kind regards Lisa & Tony x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing