We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Review of The Wine Bar

The Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Cuisines: British, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a cosy, friendly basement bar/restaurant. We serve a lunch time menu including a TAPA's menu too. May to October(11.30 to 3pm), and an evening menu (thurs, fri & sat, 7pm to 9pm.Sunday 12pm to 5pm)). We try and use fresh local produce wherever possible. Fresh fish, mature steak and lots more. We are also available for private functions, we can cater for up to 22 sit down, or up to 60 people with hot and cold buffet.
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a fantastic lunch today. The food was cooked to perfection. There is a very large variety of food available and the owners go out of their way to make your meal special. The steak was just as requested. All the vegetables are fresh and meals are cooked to order.A good selection of starters, mains and desserts are available. The chocolate pudding was yummy! Be patient it is well worth the wait. The portions are very good, you will not go hungry. The meals are very good value and the wine list is good with excellent prices. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will definitely return. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sulew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of The WINE BAR. We are so pleased your Enyoyed your recent visit, we hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Lisa & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Came here as part of a very large group and had a a delicious buffet style tapas meal laid out for us all. Service was great - very friendly staff who managed to fit us all in and kept us well fed and watered all night. It's the second time we've all visited Herne Bay for an arts festival and both times we've been to The Wine Bar. No doubt we'll be back again next time too - a sure sign that everyone loved it. The staff didn't even complain when we started singing - such patience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review about your evening with our Tapas style buffet. We really enjoyed you singing and drawings. It was a pleasure to serve you all. The arts festival was great for everyone in Herne Bay and we all look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards Lisa & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Having and a fabulous evening out, with great wine and splendid food, we decided to take some old friends to the Wine Bar for a long awaited for get together. Yet again, we were warmly welcomed and recieved fabulous advice about the menu and our wine choice. The food was excellent, my steak was so tender and tasty I ate the lot, despite the enormous size.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MandyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Your review made us smile :) Thank you so much. It made wonderfully reading, all the best. Hope to see you again soon, Lisa &Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a lovely meal with a very good wine collection, lovely couple who run the place,can't do enough for you..Went with family and the children were welcome.There mite be a little wait as the food is all made freshly to your order,and is well worth it.I would highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shirleyncarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi, thank you for your recent review of The Wine Bar. It is away's so lovely to read reviews like yours.
Thank you once again, kind regards,
Lisa & Tony :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We visited 'The Wine Bar' on a local friends recommendation, we had pre booked and enter down some steps of off the high street, a pleasant surprise cosy lighting good bar and welcoming female landlady/owner.
She told us from the off what was unfortunately not available on the menu but gave great descriptions on all other dishes with recommendations etc, we had a great service good food adequate portion sizes in a small bit intimate dinning space, nice to have a conversation with friends and hear them unlike other restaurants.
Will I visit again......'Hell yes'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HOTRODDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi, thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to The Wine Bar and hope to see you again realy soon.
Kind regards,

Lisa & Tony :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing