We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”

The Wallflower Cafe
Ranked #3 of 136 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Independent cafe offering locally sourced quality wholesome food and good coffee.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went to the Wallflower Cafe for Mother's Day lunch. Wide variety for meat-eaters, veggie and vegan! Falafel, hummus, salad and tabbouleh plate was delicious! Would definitely recommend and will return for more soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahbraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    24
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“SHHHH!! Stop telling everyone about our secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Wallflower is tucked away - at the end of an uninspiring alley of naff shops and looks onto a car park - GOOD.. all the better to keep away the hoards of people that would go if they knew the amazing service and food that was inside! The salads are divine, the frittata is thick and tasty, the cooked breakfast amazing....This tiny cafe cooks spectacular food - a good selection of vegan and vegetarian and they do evening meals too - which we have not been lucky enough to go to.

But stop telling everyone!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rain69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very, very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

On this, our first visit, we both had the lamb burger with fries and salad and could not fault one single element. Even the drinks were above average and the banana milkshake was the best ever. It was thick and tasted of real banana rather than flavouring.
With only five tables and a two stool breakfast bar this tiny cafe will fill up fast, but it is possible to book. The staff were welcoming and helpful which made for a nice atmosphere.
Food of this quality cries out for a bigger and better venue. We hope those behind this enterprise achieve that one day, as they deserve to do well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“This is a great little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you are in the Herne Bay area or even further afield, make sure you visit this place.

It's a cosy little place that serves a proper cup of tea but if that's not what you want, their wide range of other drinks will meet your needs.

Their food is all homemade and very tasty. The Welsh Rarebit is superb and really hits the spot.

This is a place that once you come and try the food, everywhere else in the area will just disappoint you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great for gluten free diets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This little café was recommend to me by a friend who lives in Herne Bay. I have Coeliac’s Disease and it’s always great to know of places that do good gluten free food. The staff are really friendly and knowledgeable about gluten free diets and were able to advise me what I could have to eat. There is a great selection of muffins which are all gluten free and a good range of main course options too. I had a falafel burger served with hummus, skinny fries and a lovely fresh salad, all excellent. Really wish I’d known about this place when I lived in Herne Bay, I would have been a very regular visitor!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestgateWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wallflower Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Wallflower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing