We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“didn't get served!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn

Hampton Inn
Ranked #19 of 133 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“didn't get served!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

2.25pm last Friday, hottest day of the year and we had walked through the door and tried to order food to be told the chef goes at 2.30... that was in five minutes time... we only wanted a sandwich... but what we got was an explanation that was clearly an excuse...

We had a drink and sat outside. How do you grade a pint and iffy Pimms... the menu looked alright. The bar looked clean... the setting is OK. The service was just poor... sorry, it would not have taken much effort...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    49
    4
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really enjoyed our meal. Gave exactly what was asked for Vegetables and meat cooked just right. Service first class thank you

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice little pub with sensible food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My mother heard mix reviews but based on the menu we went for lunch. The staff are friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Appropriate to the location they have lots of fish choices but also some other favourites. The prices are fair and reasonable with excellent portions.

This old venue has been freshly decorated with a seaside theme, not quite as polished as some pubs but also not faux like many modern pubs. There is the occasional waft of stale beer, which surprised me given how fresh the place looks. But the rest of the package was so charming that it can be forgiven the imperfections.

We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Bob_DVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcomig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Hampton is our local pub/restaurant and since Brenda and Graham have taken over, it is a wonderful place to come to. Not only is if friendly and welcoming, the food and service is fantastic as well. We regularly visit with our dog Sammy and are never disappointed. We recommend The Hampton to everyone as it caters for all :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We can across this gem by accident and unfortunately didn't have time to enjoy the fabulous-looking fresh food on offer.

The pub is located in a fantastic position with superb views. It is immaculate and well laid out. What impressed us most was the warm welcome by the Landlords who showed genuine interest in our house hunting visit. Fresh coffee and iced drinks were spot on. We look forward to a return visit for a meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyanmagenta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hampton Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hampton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing