We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Dean's Plaice

Dean's Plaice
Ranked #51 of 137 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have eaten here on many occasions but never again.This place has gone downhill quicker than lizzy on her sled. Our order was forgotten, half of it was missing and one piece of cod was all batter and no fish, The attitude of the lady at the till was one of' couldn't care less' just give me your money. I would advise you to try others and maybe this will give this place a wake up call. On the upside the young waitress was very apologetic and polite,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    14
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips - friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We went here on a day out, the fish was lovely and fresh and the chips were chunky and crisp, lovely size
Portions, even a kids and senior cod available. Staff we're very friendly and willing to help where ever they could. Restaurant was clean and toilets respectable. We will definitely be returning ! We'll done keep it up ...

Helpful?
Thank Karontwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fresh cooked boneless/skinned fish in delicious batter and real chunky chip shop chips”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Good service and quality food, clean premises with good toilet facilities, plenty of car parks nearby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia gallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Visited today and stopped by for a bag of chips. Medium portion was large and appeared good value but sadly not very appetising? Not crisp and a bit soggy we only walked across the road to eat them! Very greasy at the bottom of the bag and unusually for me I left a quarter of them and put them in the bin! I shall not return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in Herne Bay”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Tried many Fish and chip shops in Herne Bay all ok nothing great untill this evening gave Dean's Plaice a try lovely best fish and chips I have had in Herne Bay lovely Fresh tasting fish cooked perfectly nice chunky chips great curry sauce and lovely staff very helpful and friendly highly recommend staff great with children visited with my son under 2 years old and staff were great very friendly and helpful will be back soon :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 889NatDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dean's Plaice also viewed

 
Herne Bay, Kent
 

Been to Dean's Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing