We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must in Herne Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dean's Plaice

Dean's Plaice
Ranked #54 of 133 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must in Herne Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is always our first port of call, especially when we take my Mum, 88, who loves the local Rock fish or Gurnet as she says it is called!!! A strange thing with a large backbone right through it, but very tasty.
It's right next to the clock tower so you cannot miss it. Nothing pretty about the place, it is what it is but the fish is very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretclincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    14
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with friend and 2 toddlers midweek. Staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Moaning as we wanted a larger table. The shop was practically empty! So the children's meals were the same size as adults. So just buy from the children's menu and save yourself a fortune. They served quickly. The scampi was from a budget warehouse tasteless, small and bland. Chips were standard. The condiments weren't Heinz just some more cheap nasty stuff. This pleasure cost £25! Scandal. Not impressed. Won't be back. Ps. Serve Heinz tom ketchup at the very least!

Helpful?
1 Thank den1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were a party of 10 and 5 were children under 10. Great food , friendly service and just an all round good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably THE best seaside fish and chips in the world!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A visit to Herne Bay just would not be the same without a bag of fish n chips from Deans Plaice either eaten in or sat on the sea wall. Today it was Rock, chips and mushy peas with the family. Great food, quick, friendly service and all at a great price. You can't ask for more. Looking forward to my next visit in the Summer!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good quality fish and chips by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is our second visit to the fish and chip shop - on both occasions we ordered a takeaway and we weren't disappointed.
The prices are a little high but the quality of the food and the portion size definitely doesn't disappoint.
We definitely return to this shop and order again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paolo88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dean's Plaice also viewed

 

Been to Dean's Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing