We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Power Walk along the Downs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Downs

The Downs
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Power Walk along the Downs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Power Walk along the Downs on a sunny Sunday. So much wildlife to see and take in as well as the beautiful coastline. It is nice to see the downs so well used from families having picnics to runners and kite flyers. Happy Place

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unspoilt, Relaxing,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Along the Downs there are beautiful serene views, lovely walks to Herne Bay through banks of wild flowers before you get to main path. Lots of dogs enjoying their walks with their owners. Perfect little shingly beaches for dips in the sea. You can also walk the other way towards Reculver Towers where there is a great pub with excellent food. Lots of wild birds too. I love it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan d D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and glorius walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

A gem of the bay. The downs provide beautiful views and have glorius walks. One can walk to Reculver Towers and on the way enjoy beautiful scenic views of the sea, beaches and nature. See for yourself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“smell the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just fab. whatever the weather is and however I'm feeling by the time I have walked my dog to the top of the Downs I am in a better frame of mind.
Saltly/ lots of air , birds , rabbits, friendly dog owners ,changing scenery,cafe at the Kings Hall , Walk to Reculver and Bishopstone , collect shells, fossils ( and the odd pound coin)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cazbar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Its on my door step.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Every day when I walk my dog I think to myself how lucky I am to be right on the Downs. The views over the sea towards Southend and Isle of Sheppy one way and Reculver and Thanet the other are just beautiful. Straight ahead of you are the old wartime forts and along side the modern windfarm. If you are there in the evening the sunsets are unrivaled. Bring your camera.

There are several walks you can do depending on whether you want to do steps or not.
At one end you have the Kings Hall where you can get refreshments and the other end you can take a small detor into Beltinge village where there are two cafes where you can refuel.

Wildlife is abound here too. Birds, lizards, rabbits, hares to name but a few all nestle in the Downs of Herne Bay. To help you on your way there are information boards telling you of points of interest.
come and enjoy my walk. x

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxnKev64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Downs also viewed

 

Been to The Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing