We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location on the Sea Front”
Review of Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herne Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Herne Bay B&B and Inns
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Location on the Sea Front”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Located right on the sea front which was lovely we were in room 2 a family room at the front adequate size really, large modern bathroom with stand alone bath, but when it came to night time when the wind was blowing all the windows at the front rattled none stop . the floor boards creaked I woke up in the night thinking someone was walking in the room but it was coming from upstairs.
There were 3 of us in the room & not enough towels supplied only one bath towel, a medium size then a small hand towel next to the sink. The shower was very sparadic & the temperature was not constant one minute freezing the next minute burning.No hair dryer in the room.
Cooked Breakfast was good although very limited for continental option.
Nice small warm indoor pool need advance notification if you wish to use this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCMBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    9
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Myself, my husband and 10 year old daughter stayed at the Victoria Hotel for the first of which will be many visits. We generally stay at a guest house in Whitstable but fancied a change this time, and it was definitely for the better.
Initial enquiries over the internet then subsequent telephone booking were pleasant and prompt. We stayed for 2 nights whilst my husband took part in the BHF Viking Cycle Ride & we visited relatives. The owner was on holiday when we actually visted but his daughters Claire and Julie ensured things ran smoothly.
We stayed in room 4, on the top floor. Room was fine with plenty of space to move around. There is no wardrobe for clothes to hang, but there is a good sized rail with hangers which actually suited us better. There are 2 small side units by the double bed for smaller stuff if needed but we left ours in the suitcase.
The bathroom is compact but adequate, toilet, sink, bath with shower over. Could do with a lick of paint and there isn't much water pressure which is understandable being on such a high floor - still gave a decent shower though.
The views over the sea front were good, even in October. There is a chair in the window, not that comfortable, but good for sitting and reading in, having a coffee or just taking in the view. The windows nearer the double bed rattled a bit in the wind but we stuffed some paper in them and that solved the problem. Both beds were comfortable and we all slept soundly on both nights. There is wireless internet available, as well as freeview and dvd in the room.
We had coffee & toast on the first morning as we were making an early start, before breakfast was served, however we experienced the the full thing the second morning and it was great, with even Marmite being provided. The dining room is a tad small but adequate.
There is also a small heated swimming pool in the basement. It must be fairly old as relatives remember swimming there over 20 years ago, but it is fine for splashing around in & a quiet swim. There could perhaps be a few more pool toys for children. Ideal for me as I am not a strong swimmer and it only took me 8 strokes to swim from end to end. There is a shower and toilet there so you can shower and dress down there rather than walk through the guest house wet.
The actual guest house is great. More like staying with relatives, a take us as we are. For example there was a ladder in the hall outside our room all weekend, music from the lounge on arrival and the tv playing quietly.
Next time we stay we will have room 2 which we saw before leaving. Even better than the one we were in.
The owner is apparently doing some decorating and maintenace over the winter so the rattling windows should be gone. He is also decorating the annexe.
Overall a nice place to stay. Clare and Julie were both very friendly and made us feel welcome.
There is no onsight parking but there is pay parking opposite and the guest house can provide a parking permit at small cost so that you can park there cheaply.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loud65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Stayed here November last year, only just got around to writing the review. Picked the place as it was a great price and right by the seaside plus within distance to a wedding we were attending.
We spent 2 nights here, when we arrived from London just gave the owners a call and they opened up the place to show us the room. We had the large king room with sea side view. It was massive! The bed was huge, the bathroom was even bigger with a shower and lovely free standing bath.
There was a bit of noise on both nights as the seafront is where all the kids hang out and drunken teenagers wandering about but this died down at kicking out time.
The great thing about this place, apart from the breakfast, was the pool in the basement. You can hire it to yourself for an hour and its well worth splashing about and having fun before grabbing a bite for lunch.
I would recommend this place for those who want to be by the sea and up for a bit of swimming in the basement!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingmookshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

just came back from a stay at a couple of hotels in Kent, one was the Victoria Hotel in Herne bay which we were dissappointed in as we arrived at 9pm but we hadnt booked and knocked on the door of the Victoria and no one answered but we rang one of the numbers on the window and someone said they would be there in 10mins. on arrival we checked in and paid the money for the room for one night and we were told full english breakfast included. The only think i can say is where was the breakfast as it was supposed to be between 8 and 9am we waited till 8.45 but the dining room remained locked and kitchen was unlocked with no sign of anyone. one other person was waiting as well but we gave up and went to a cafe then left as we were due to go on to Canterbury which was much better. This is the only thing that was wrong as strange that no one was around. The only other thing is the room we stayed in could be updated but it was a last minute stay and so all i can say is we have been treated better even if only for one night.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCindy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My friend and I went to see a band play at the nearby Kings hall venue, and although we only live a few towns away, we would have not been able to get the last train back in time, and as we both wanted to have a drink and enjoy the music, we decided to drive down, park the car over night and stay in a guest house. I found the Victoria and it suited our needs perfectly, We were put in the annex where we had a big twin room that had ensuite and a bug widesgreent.v and DVD player.

The breakfast smelt wonderful, but as we were both hungover, we got up late and missed it, so just checked out, but judging by the smell i would give 10 out of 10! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIBlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in May and had a lovely room at the top of the hotel with fantastic seaviews. (Beware at the top so lots of stairs but we were told so if you have troble with too many stairs not to worry!!!!) The rooms were affordable with a variety of prices and rooms to suit all. The hotel was very clean and well decorated (they were in the process of modernising one of the other rooms). We didnt use it but there is a indoor heated pool that we will be using next ime (didn't have our swimming stuff this time) It is a family run hotel and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Best of all though had to be the breakfast, a brilliant full English (especially the bacon!!). We are going back in August.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britishtraveller098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at the Victoria Hotel. We stayed in room 4 which is on the top floor. It has 2 large windows with a view all along the promenade and across the bay. This room had an en-suite with bath, shower over and loo, it was spotlessly clean.

Some of the other rooms have shared facilities but these were also very clean and pleasant.

The breakfast was lovely, juice, a choice of cereals and 'full english'.

The couple running the B&B are also very nice and helpful.

There was a bit of 'teenage' noise from the promende on the Friday night as they moved from pup to pup but nothing too bad and it didn't keep us awake.

I wouldn't hesitate to recomend this little B&B.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jerbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herne Bay
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 85 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Herne Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Herne Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Herne Bay, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing