We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A seaside town B&b with a view”
Review of Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herne Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Herne Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2011

It was lovely to wake up, sit up in bed (and a very big bed) and see the sea. Seafront location makes this very appealing and we took the big room (2 I think) on the first floor. Bathroom nice and spacious with a roll top bath, although we found that the only hot water available was that running through the separate electric shower. Dogs very welcome. Good price quality, although the 45 minute wait for breakfast was torture.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

I must say that the reason I booked this hotel was that Alan was very pleasant on the phone when I phoned to ask if they had availability even though I didn't make the booking there and then. Stayed for 2 nights in Room 7 which is in the back Annex (a house behind the hotel), in quiet road. On our arrival, they had left the radiator on in the room so it was nice and warm. Alan and Julie were very friendly and made a big effort to make us at home. The breakfast was lovely, real bacon ! and cooked to perfection.

We used the heated swimming pool on both days and were only charged £5 per hour and had the pool all to ourselves. It was not very big but just right for us as I could quite easily keep the girls under control on my own. There was a shower and a toilet available next to the pool, and a changing room, which was lovely and warm as they left the radiator on for us. They also supplied floats for the children.

I thought the price of the hotel was very reasonable and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 516Pauline4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed in room 4 for 2 nights which had a lovely view of Herne Bay habour but unfortunately thats where the positive feedback ends. The bed was the worst nights sleep either of us had ever had. You could feel every spring - so on the 2nd night we got the duvet from the single bed and put it over the matress. There was no dressing table and the electric sockets and bedside lamps were almost hanging off the wall (my partner is an electrician so always notices these things!) The cold tap in the ensuite didn't work half the time and as for the shower, a watering can would have done a better job. I must say that the breakfast was lovely, but the times are outrageous! Latest breakfast at a weekend was 9am! Check out was very early too, 10am! There are not enough tables and chairs if everyone comes down for breakfast at the same time - we were sent away at 9am and told to come back in 20 mins, was still waiting 30 mins later. The owners seemed nice enough but no-one asked us if we had enjoyed our stay and if everything had been ok - which i consider good customer service. At £65 a night i consider this B&B very expensive and won't return when we go back to visit the family. Shame as the location and view was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Room 2 or 4 for sea views
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateanddan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just got back after a 3 night break at the Victoria Hotel in Herne Bay, extremely impressed, the owners were very friendly and we were made to feel welcome from the start. The 2nd floor room, room 2, was spacious, clean and tidy, the bath was massive and felt luxurious. The bed was a Queen Size and I can honestly say that I have never had such good nights sleep it was so comfortable I was out like a light, breakfast was great too. Had a swimming pool too, but did not use so can't really comment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCritic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

had a family room the bed was very comfortable and decor ok. loved the use of the private pool but would of liked a lock just in case someone walked in when changing. in the family room it needs plug socket safety devices as children find it to easy to put fingers in sockets.
one major down side that u expect should be a highchair if u have a family room u dont want to feed ur child in a buggy. there are also no welcome booklet or information in ur rooms which would be helpful. i would stay again and use the pool but bit difficult with a baby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Located right on the sea front which was lovely we were in room 2 a family room at the front adequate size really, large modern bathroom with stand alone bath, but when it came to night time when the wind was blowing all the windows at the front rattled none stop . the floor boards creaked I woke up in the night thinking someone was walking in the room but it was coming from upstairs.
There were 3 of us in the room & not enough towels supplied only one bath towel, a medium size then a small hand towel next to the sink. The shower was very sparadic & the temperature was not constant one minute freezing the next minute burning.No hair dryer in the room.
Cooked Breakfast was good although very limited for continental option.
Nice small warm indoor pool need advance notification if you wish to use this.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCMBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Myself, my husband and 10 year old daughter stayed at the Victoria Hotel for the first of which will be many visits. We generally stay at a guest house in Whitstable but fancied a change this time, and it was definitely for the better.
Initial enquiries over the internet then subsequent telephone booking were pleasant and prompt. We stayed for 2 nights whilst my husband took part in the BHF Viking Cycle Ride & we visited relatives. The owner was on holiday when we actually visted but his daughters Claire and Julie ensured things ran smoothly.
We stayed in room 4, on the top floor. Room was fine with plenty of space to move around. There is no wardrobe for clothes to hang, but there is a good sized rail with hangers which actually suited us better. There are 2 small side units by the double bed for smaller stuff if needed but we left ours in the suitcase.
The bathroom is compact but adequate, toilet, sink, bath with shower over. Could do with a lick of paint and there isn't much water pressure which is understandable being on such a high floor - still gave a decent shower though.
The views over the sea front were good, even in October. There is a chair in the window, not that comfortable, but good for sitting and reading in, having a coffee or just taking in the view. The windows nearer the double bed rattled a bit in the wind but we stuffed some paper in them and that solved the problem. Both beds were comfortable and we all slept soundly on both nights. There is wireless internet available, as well as freeview and dvd in the room.
We had coffee & toast on the first morning as we were making an early start, before breakfast was served, however we experienced the the full thing the second morning and it was great, with even Marmite being provided. The dining room is a tad small but adequate.
There is also a small heated swimming pool in the basement. It must be fairly old as relatives remember swimming there over 20 years ago, but it is fine for splashing around in & a quiet swim. There could perhaps be a few more pool toys for children. Ideal for me as I am not a strong swimmer and it only took me 8 strokes to swim from end to end. There is a shower and toilet there so you can shower and dress down there rather than walk through the guest house wet.
The actual guest house is great. More like staying with relatives, a take us as we are. For example there was a ladder in the hall outside our room all weekend, music from the lounge on arrival and the tv playing quietly.
Next time we stay we will have room 2 which we saw before leaving. Even better than the one we were in.
The owner is apparently doing some decorating and maintenace over the winter so the rattling windows should be gone. He is also decorating the annexe.
Overall a nice place to stay. Clare and Julie were both very friendly and made us feel welcome.
There is no onsight parking but there is pay parking opposite and the guest house can provide a parking permit at small cost so that you can park there cheaply.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loud65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herne Bay
3.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
888 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
452 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
398 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westgrange House B & B
Westgrange House B & B
#9 of 10 in Herne Bay
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 85 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Herne Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Herne Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Herne Bay, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing