We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The First And Last

The First And Last
Ranked #41 of 136 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Work
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I would definitely recommend a visit to the Pub/Restaurant, very welcoming, very good food, very reasonably priced. Catered well for my grand children. Will be a regular visitor to this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindylou1Work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    11
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Made christmas special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

after visiting this pub a few months ago just after the new landlord nick and his lovely wife lisa took over . i decided to trust them with my christmas dinner for myself and family. i am glad i did what a great experience it was perfect, the atmosphere was great, service was perfect and the food was fantastic. i had the pleasure of talking to the chef afterwards what a nice man no spotty face youngster or land lady who thinks she can cook but a mature man with decades of experience a real chef of the highest order. i will be next year and many times in between this is with out question the best place to eat in kent

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glock45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“christmas day lunch. wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We thought we would try the First and Last for our Christmas day lunch this year, the last 2 years we (my wife. my 21Year old son and myself) have had it at our local Table Table. After hearing the First and Last had changed hands, it was time to give it a go!
We are so very pleased we did, what a fantastic meal it was, and such value for money.
Starters was a help yourself (to as much as you want) buffet table, and what a choice! Fresh salmon, smoked salmon, prawns (fresh or in sauce) several more seafood choices. Cooked meats, pates, and salads to name part of the choice.
This was followed by either Turkey, Beef, Salmon or vegatarian with all the normal trimmings.
Dessert Christmas pudding, fruit salad or chocolate tort.
Coffee and mince pie, and if you had any room left, a help yourself cheeseboard with a large choice of local cheeses (very sorry to say, but very few people made it to the cheeses as they were too stuffed, including our party)
It is so nice to see a local pub doing food of this quiality, and we have promised ourselves to eat here at least once a month (or more)
If you passing, don't just drive past any more, stop and enjoy a real local pub.
Welcome back the First and Last.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PATRICKDGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had Christmas day lunch, yesterday. What a feast! How Martyn produces such good food for so many, heaven only knows. The staff were very attentive as were mine hosts, Nick & Lisa.
Fabulous day, thanks to ALL of the staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Local Pub worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

The First and Last has over the past few years had a number of landlords. Being within a stones throw of my house I have always tried to support it as much as possible. It is really great to finally have a great landlord, who knows how to run a pub. The pub has been renovated, new carpets, painted etc.. Staff are friendly and the food has improved 100%. Sunday roast is absolutely worth visiting for. They also do a curry night on one Thursday a month. This is just wonderful and curry is amazing. We have a young son who loves going to the pub now. Rushes in and sits at the bar. He is always made to feel special and very welcome. If you are passing by, stop in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 245lck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The First And Last also viewed

Herne Bay, Kent
Herne Bay, Kent
 

Been to The First And Last? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing