We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - Fish and Chips in Liberace's Boudoir!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mushy Peas

Mushy Peas
Ranked #17 of 136 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing - Fish and Chips in Liberace's Boudoir!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We'd heard about Mushy Peas and their chandeliers - it sounded odd but interesting and any new restaurant is a welcome addition as the town slowly begins to 'Whistable-fy' itself!
We dropped in last night at 8.45pm and found out they actually stopped at 9pm. 'Don't worry about that' we were told and were shown into the restaurant.

We had a great bottle of wine, a huge piece of Rock and a Cod. Frankly it was the freshest fried fish I'd ever eaten. The batter was light and a total absence of any oil. The chips were perfect, crisp but fluffy inside, and the bread and butter was thick cut and fresh.
Presentation was lovely, huge square plates and well filled. We spent £30 on a feast and left really happy. It's a brilliant addition to the town and we can't wait to take our next weekend guests there.

The decor? It really does work! It's been done well, it fits together nicely and it's a little something different in a world dominated by soulless chains and uniform high streets. Couldn't recommend it more - get down to the seafront and try it for yourself!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssdsoholondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    20
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We visited Mushy Peas for take away cod and chips today. We were not disappointed. The fish was beautiful. Big flakes of cod and crispy batter. Chips also very good. Very generous portions. All freshly cooked .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Belly dancing extravaganza !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Visited Mushy Peas this Wednesday for Turkish Night!!!...OMG!!!...What a Night!!!!....hot & cold Meze to die for!!...followed by a meat platter...followed by water Mellon and Turkish sweets!!!...excellent home cooked food and service!!!...a night of great food, Turkish music AND BELLY DANCING!!...a real must!!!....can't wait till the next one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food, service AND service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Everyone should be spoilt and eat fish n chips like this. Soo special!! bling and fish. Great staff and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussieswans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Went down to Herne bay for a weekend away, just to be disappointed and let down by the poor service and overall below average food, wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianosbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nejmi, Owner at Mushy Peas, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Unfortunately it is impossible for me to respond to this review as you provide very limited details of when you visited, what you ate and generally what part of the experience you did not enjoy. In any event I am sorry that you did not enjoy the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mushy Peas also viewed

 

Been to Mushy Peas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing