We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food perfectly cooked best scallops I've ever eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Poisson

Le Petit Poisson
Ranked #19 of 136 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on Herne Bay seafront overlooking the harbour and next to the pier, we specialise in seafood, but also have meat and vegetarian dishes available. All our dishes are cooked to order using fresh locally sourced seasonal ingredients and our menu evolves with the seasons, (it's available to view on our web site). Fully licensed; with a good selection of international and local, wines and beers. Our talented and friendly chefs are happy to cater for special dietary requirements given sufficient notice.
Hatfield heath
2 reviews
“Delicious food perfectly cooked best scallops I've ever eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went for lunch yesterday. All the tables outside were taken but we asked if they had another to go outside and it was no trouble at all for them. The food is delicious! We had the curried olives which are amazing! The oysters were delicious so was the pickled samphire and the champagne shallots. My scallops were the best I've ever had. If you like seafood you won't be disappointed in this place. Well worth a visit. Lovely cycle routes to minnis bay and whistable and Canterbury from here. They hire the bikes out from the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hatfieldheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    136
    43
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad experience for Dad's birthday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We really liked this place on our first visit so came back for a lunchtime birthday meal. Unfortunately it was a poor experience overall, as the restaurant was badly understaffed.

Our waiter (clearly a well meaning chap) was flustered and made mistake after mistake - for example orders were wrong, we weren't asked if our food was ok, weren't asked if we wanted more drinks, or if we wanted desert. And there were errors on the bill too. The other waiter, who dealt with our payment, was cocky and obnoxious, which was very surprising.

The food was OK overall - the mussels were tasty and plentiful and the £12 lunch menu is good value. The mains are expensive though. Steak was requested to be rare but was closer to well done. Avoid the shrimp croquette's unless you have a really tiny appetite!

Given our experience it's unlikely we'll return, which is a shame as we really enjoyed it the first time around.

Helpful?
Thank Tristonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“anniversary meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

It is one of the best fish restaurants around. The food is excellent and is beautifully presented and reasonably priced. It was a very enjoyable evenin.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidFJ8127CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scallops to Die For”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

One of the best scallop dishes I have eaten. Attentive service, well-cooked food, reasonably priced Muscadet. Lovely location. Worth a trip to Herne Bay for Le Poisson.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and very, very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I love Le Petit Poisson. The décor is simple and unfussy, the food is wonderful and the service excellent. We have eaten there many times and never, ever been disappointed. Today we had oysters (local and absolutely yummy) and mussels in cider to start followed by beautifully cooked skate and cod, washed down by a very decent Muscadet. This was followed by one portion to share (we were quite full by this time) of raspberry Eton mess and a glass of a lovely dessert wine. Starters are around the £6.50 to £7.00 mark and mains start at around £16.00.

The location of the restaurant couldn't be better, right on the seafront at Herne Bay. They also hire bikes so you can explore the surrounding countryside or ride the Oyster Bay Trail to Whitstable. If you like fish do try this great little restaurant...you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Footloose_Cait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Poisson also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Poisson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing