We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in a lovely old pub”
Review of King Henry VIII

King Henry VIII
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hever
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The King Henry VIII is a truly historic English pub, from its dramatic Tudor chimney stacks to its oak beams, open fires and panelled bars, all restored using traditional Tudor craftsmanship. The current building dates from 1647 but a pub has occupied the site since 1597.Opposite the entrance to Hever Castle, where Anne Boleyn spent her early years, this half-timbered and peg-tiled pub is a real gem. In summer the beautiful beer garden and pond make visits especially memorable and the roaring fires and polished wood panelling make it a welcoming and cosy place for colder months.Customers can expect excellent food in generous portions and a wide range of ales, beers & wines.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a lovely old pub”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stopped at the Henry VIII Inn just before Christmas after visiting Hever Castle. It really is a lovely old pub and although it was busy we managed to find a table in the back room which had an open fire and Christmas tree, making it very festive.

The food was very good and reasonably priced and the service was great.

We are planning to return to visit the castle again in the summer and will definitley be going back to the Henry VII for lunch.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KediYavrusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenryVIIIinn, Owner at King Henry VIII, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    214
    38
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Astor wing b&b in the castle grounds but had this pub had been recommended by the castle staff. It is about a five to ten minute walk down an unlit road unfortunately so be prepared to dive into hedges as cars approach (castle supply torches and umbrellas) having said that the food is well worth the action packed journey. We visited twice, had the pork belly and pie of the day the first night which was deliciious. Did not think on our 2nd visit it could be topped, wrong, I had the black pepper chicken with Satay sauce and it was to die for. It is reasonably priced and the best quality pub food I have ever tasted

Helpful?
1 Thank pixie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenryVIIIinn, Owner at King Henry VIII, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pub in an historic area”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

You will not be disappointed visiting he Henry - since David and Tony have taken it over, about 3 years ago they have turned it into an excellent establishment. Set opposite the historic Hever Castle and the ancient St.Peters church this pub would attract anyone from locals to worldwide travellers discovering the beautiful Eden Valley. The walks surrounding the pub are wonderful especially in summer, the food is excellent, varied, good quality and superb value, as well as being beautifully clean. The ambience is delightful with candles in the evening, open log fires in the winter, great for family gatherings or for sitting by the fire reading quietly; they have got it 'just right', all in all a great welcoming pub, try it and find out for yourself!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank profkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenryVIIIinn, Owner at King Henry VIII, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dependable”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Loved how it was close to our hotel, fare was different every day made with local produce good ale great ambiance...be careful when exiting the pub esp at night...as it exits right on the road!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 0rbis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenryVIIIinn, Owner at King Henry VIII, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
429 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“First rate English Pub experience”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Totally agree with recent reviews of this pub.
On the basis of these reviews my wife and I chose it for Saturday lunch today and left looking forward to visiting again. It would be easy for the proprietors here to trade off the position here but they really put themselves out to provide a good food deal in the setting of a proper English Pub. The meals are beautifully presented yet the atmosphere is not pretentious.
My wife had soup of the day and I had whitebait, and I can't remember having better whitebait, and plenty of it. For main courses my wife had fish stew and I had homemade steak pie that was so full unfortunately I couldn't finish it, I'll know next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenryVIIIinn, Owner at King Henry VIII, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Henry VIII also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to King Henry VIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing