We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape from London!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hever B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect escape from London!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We only stayed the night but it was perfect. The service was fantastic from start to finish. The room was beautiful with a great bathroom. We had to leave early in the morning before the staff were able to serve breakfast and we were given breakfast to take along with pastries, fruit juice and fruit. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. My boyfriend liked it so much he want to bring his parents here when they come to visit! The ground were also lovely all the christmas decorations and music make it particularly festive. The castle is smaller than anticipated but great to see. The grounds are lovely. The only criticism I could possibly give is to the colourful lights all over the grounds that take a way a little bit and perhaps make it unnecessarily tacky. Otherwise a great place to visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tulip Room which was perfect. Beautiful to every last detail!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdub1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    61
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
79
343
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My mother and I went to stay here for her 80th birthday, which was really special. The staff really went out of their way to be accommodating and helpful. My mum is in a wheelchair, which can sometimes be tricky in older buildings, but all of the staff helped with the ramps and extra equipment we needed. A special commendation to Chris, who was absolutely brilliant.
The bedrooms are really comfy and warm, the lounges have everything you may need and the breakfast had a good range of choices, cooked beautifully.
We had a great time - thanks guys

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boardman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were only able to stay one night but it was wonderful. The room was extra large and very clean. The view from the room of the ground was a very nice extra perk. The restaurant served a very tasty breakfast also. Unfortunately it was raining the next morning when we went to tour the grounds so we were unable to enjoy as much of it as we would have liked to. The staff is very friendly and helpful also. I love British history so this was a wonderful place to start our tour of southern England. The area is very beautiful and charming also. I am not usually a fan of B&B's but this is the exception to the rule. It is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sockysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the single room for one night and the double room for the second one. You can get access to Hever Castle grounds before and after hours and that is quite honestly magical. Just gorgeous and you have the grounds pretty much to yourself. The grounds during the day are pretty rammed and less enjoyable. I'd give the double room 5 out of 5, the single room 3 out of 5. Just a bit too small for my liking. But the double rooms are lovely.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverMarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and found it absolutely wonderful. The staff are very helpful, the breakfast was as good as you will find at any B&B. The room we were in was very large by European standards, the bed was very comfortable, and the area was very quiet. Our only problem was that it rained most of the two days that we were here, but that is part of visiting England. With the B&B we received a ticket to enter the castle - well worth doing - and visiting the grounds and gardens at any time (even outside normal tourist hours) - again, very worth doing especially when no one except other B&B guests are around, so very peaceful to walk around the extensive gardens.

A couple hints. We landed at Heathrow Airport and took a taxi to the B&B. This was 85 pounds for the two of us, but we figured that taking trains and a taxi from Edenbridge train to Hever Castle was going to cost the two of us about this anyway. So taking the taxi is much easier and about the same cost. To fly into Gatwick airport is much closer to the Castle is that is an option.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmaier69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a one night stay here on our tour of southern England and have to say this is the best b&b we have ever stayed in! The room was so beautiful and sumptuous with plenty of space with an outlook onto the lovely grounds and castle. I have always wanted to visit Hever and it was everything I had imagined and more! The entrance to castle and gardens are included in your rate so it was great to stroll around at your leisure before retiring to your room. We drove to a fairly local pub to have a meal at night as the local pub stopped serving food just after 6 on a sunday evening but this wasn't a problem for us.
Finally, the breakfast lived up to expectations with a good choice of very tasty produce and in lovely surroundings, will most definitely visit here again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spider226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A couple of weeks before we left New Zealand, I saw a documentary about this Castle, which I had never heard of previously. When they said it was now a B&B, I quickly changed plans and booked a room for the night. We only stayed one night (Tuesday 22nd October) as we were doing a road trip through Southern England.

We arrived just after noon. It was lovely to meet Caroline, who had been great to deal with over my booking. She and her offsider Chris showed us our room and the premises, and then because our room wasn’t ready (check in time is 3.00pm) we headed back to Edenbridge to have a look around the village.

After lunch at the restaurant at Hever Castle, we toured through the Castle – the fee is included in the night’s accommodation. It was fantastic – see separate review.

After our tour we checked into our room. What a lovely room. The wing we were in was built in 1903, by Mr Astor of Waldorf Astoria Hotel fame. He’d had it built in the Tudor style, so it looks very in keeping with the castle.

The room was quite dark, but that is completely in keeping with the period. The beds are very comfortable, and the bathroom very light, clean and functional. Nice toiletries.

Very nice breakfast, in a lovely dining room with some fantastic art works. There was a buffet for cereals, pastries and fruit/juice, and a hot breakfast cooked to order.


There are also lovely art works throughout the wing, and in the billiard room and music room, which are “shared areas” for all the guests.

Great wifi.

I would happily return to stay here if we are ever back in the area. A fantastic sense of history, and wonderful staff. I think the fee of £150 per night is very reasonable for what you are getting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiLynda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hever
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#142 of 1,067 in London
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
653 reviews
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bed and Breakfast Hever Castle | Edenbridge, Hever TN8 7NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Hever
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hever
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hever Castle Luxury Bed and Breakfast offers 28 five star luxury bedrooms, each with its own unique charm and character. All bedrooms combine traditional features with modern day luxuries. Complimentary access to the Castle and gardens is included with every stay. Explore the 13th century Castle and enjoy the beautiful gardens and grounds. Discover the maze, the adventure playground, the boating lake or simply take a stroll through the stunning gardens. Play golf at Hever Castle Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hever Castle Bed And Breakfast Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing