We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering”

The Old Post Office Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hythe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Post Office Guest House
Ranked #4 of 9 Hythe B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Gathering”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the Old Post office for one night as we were meeting family for an early Christmas dinner on the High Street. Margaret was very welcoming, ensuring we parked in the right spot and giving us the keys. The room was very comfortable with a nice TV and the DIY breakfast was brilliant. Orange juice, fruit, milk, croissants etc as well as tea and coffee and a kettle and a microwave. So much more convenient!
Room and shower room were clean and bright and airy - a super place and so convenient for all the attractions on the High Street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 451Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My daughters and I have been staying at The Old Post Office Guest House on a regular basis for the last nine years. Margaret the owner is a lovely host. The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. You have every modern convenience including a fridge,microwave,flat screen tv and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.A spotlessly clean ensuite bathroom with lovely towels. Also a hair dryer and most importantly for ladies a full length mirror! We did'nt have one in The Savoy in London! The beds are lovely and comfortable with beautiful bedding ,It's outstanding value for money! The Old Post Office location is perfect .The shops and restaurants are literally on your doorstep. Margaret is always very helpful if you need anything but with your own front door key you have the freedom to come and as you please.I have stayed in both of the larger hotels in Hythe.neither can come close to The Old Post Office. We are looking forward to our return visit in December.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sovenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Outstanding value guest house in a perfect location bang in the middle of Hythe.This guest house has supplanted the Hotel Imperial as our family 'go-to' base for our regular forays around East Kent. The rooms are light, well appointed and immaculately clean.
Magaret herself is welcoming, helpful and pragmatic. The beds are comfy, there are facilites for making tea and coffee and heating a ready meal. Whether for an extending stay to finally write 'that novel' or an overnighter en-route to France it ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ande Cohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Old Post Office B&B in Hythe on Saturday 10 August and were extremely happy our choice.

It's a beautiful building in a very convenient spot on the High Street. Our room was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished, bright and airy. The bathroom was spotless, with a good shower and a few quality toilettries made available.

Margaret, who runs the place, is friendly and efficient and offers a perfect combination of attentiveness while giving you privacy. All of this for just £60 - a bargain.

My partner and I would both thoroughly recommend the place without hesitation to anyone planning a trip to Hythe.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor room overlooking the front of the building. Spacious and nice and light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed just one night but well enough equipped to enable longer stays with good degree of independence. Had a very large room at top of house - more than a room really as had sitting area with single bed, table and chairs for two, sofa and TV with double bed in a alcove. Fridge and microwave on landing outside along with a beautiful traditional rocking horse (shame we're a bit too big to have a ride - childhood dream to own one of these so was seriously tempted!). All impeccably clean and well maintained. Shower room also very clean with good shower.

Would not hesitate to stay in this comfortable and friendly guest house again

Room Tip: Top floor room was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed at the weekend, Margaret always very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent for visiting the many Restaurants or walking along the Canal, and convenient if going on the Romney Hythe & Dymchurch railway. Will definitely return for another stay as soon as possible. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending to friends & family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have stayed at The Old Post Office Guest House on 3 occasions and have always been made very welcome and the position of the guest house is ideal for parking and the shops. The family room is perfect for children and is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The facilities are top class and is nice and quiet in the evening. Margaret is a wonderful host and having stayed in many B&Bs around Britain and Europe this is one I put at the top.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emile Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.6 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
652 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,006 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,652 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 9 in Hythe
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office Guest House

Property: The Old Post Office Guest House
Address: 5 High Street | Folkestone. kent, Hythe CT21 5AB, England (Formerly The Malt Guesthouse)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old post office guesthouse was built in 1910, paid for by the Mackeson family and was known as Hythe post office.We have been trading since June 2003 and although having had to change our name (we were originally known as The Malt guest house)it is still run under the same management(Margaret)offering the same personal and friendly service.Guest are free to come and go as they please there are no restrictions on times as guest are given their own key to use at the guest entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Guest House Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing