We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wow what a place"”

Terracotta Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 77 Restaurants in Hythe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to TERRACOTTA Restaurant After our seventh successful years, we would like to thanks all our customers who visited us and said: it was the best Italian restaurant in Kent and all South East UK, we are continuing to grow and establish ourselves as truly Italian (autentico ristorante Italiano). We attract customers from all over Kent and outside and from Europe as a many visit us, enjoying our cuisine and experience a wonderful time to us which give us great pleasure,our aim is to make your visit unforgettable, we will give you the true test of Italy with our special dishes, prepared from fresh, local produce with the finest and fresh quality ingredients. Where you can relax in warm, cosy atmosphere and enjoy the excellent Italian food, which is served to you whit friendly and professionalism and we will be pleased to make you welcome and eater for your every need. For more information, please browse our website to view our menu, book a table or you want to read some of our feedback please visit the relevant pages. Other webpages of interest: Wine, Desert, Valentine set menu.Please do not hesitate to contact us.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"Wow what a place"”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We ate at the Terracotta on 13th June 2014 and were so impressed again on the 14th June 2014. The food we found to be outstanding, and this is backed up with exceptional service. We went here after reading the reviews on this site and all I can say Is they are 100% right. We would not hesitate to recommend the Terracotta and are looking forward to our next visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    27
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“****GREAT RESTAURANT****!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We went to the terracotta on the 30/5/14 for a meal out it was our first vistit and was not disappointed at all my partner had the SPAGHETTI CON ARAGOSTA and I had the FILETTO DI MANZO AL PEPE and it was amazing. We was greeted with a welcoming smile, service was great and they even showed us the way to the toilet and there puddings are amazing too so moreish. If you get the chance go in there its good value for you money and food is great what more can you ask for!!!! We will be back for a different dish soon xXx

Helpful?
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We visited this restaurant on the evening of 21st May and were delighted with both the service and the quality of the food. The restaurant is much larger than it appears from outside but still retains and intimate feeling. The proprietor and his wife could not have been more friendly and helpful. My wife ordered the Calamari for starters and received a large plateful which she said was absolutely delicious. The same was true of my parma ham with cherry mozzarella balls. The fillet steak that I had for a main course melted in the mouth. It was fortunate that the proprietor 'dissuaded' me from a side order of vegetables; the green beans together with the potatoes were more than sufficient. The house wine was very good. As my wife does not drink I had 2 glasses of the house red, but for others there are some excellent wines available at prices rising to £300+ per bottle. However there are also plenty in the £20 to £30 category. Excellent food, excellent service. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cielward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Still very good!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I wrote what was then the first Trip Advisor review for this restaurant in June 2011. I found the Terracotta very good then, and judging by the recent reviews and my own experience there this week, it has maintained its high standard. Hythe is fortunate to have several good restaurants and this is one of the best. Good Italian food cooked up by the owner and served by his wife, who always make their customers welcome. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HytheTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful food , relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely relaxed atmosphere, informal dining at it's best.
We started with the mussels (huge portion) and the roasted pepper and halumi .
Mains, seafood spaghetti , chicken rolled with spinach and mushroom . Had to keep trying each other's as it was all amazing. Came to about £20 each (until we added wine)
My only regret ..... I couldn't squeeze in one of the homemade puds !!
Would happily recommend to couples and families

Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Terracotta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing