We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away with friends”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Imperial and can recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, we ate breakfast both days which was really nice. We used the swimming pool and the spa facilites.
We liked the location on the hotel as it is right on the sea front so we could have a stroll and also near the small high street near a few nice pubs.
Would recommend to anyone wanted to get away for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1963Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Many thanks for your review and compliments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away with friends and made good use of our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please check our Mercure website for the best available rates and deals. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,426 - 1,432 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

Where else in southern England could you find a hotel next to the sea,with a indoor pool, spa, gym and with its own super, well established golf course , all within 10 minutes walk of the town centre which has a good selection of restuarants ?

What a terrible shame that the hotel owners haven,t spent the money they have recieved from selling off the gardens for developements and the golf courses club house.
Room 417 could be superb if it had a new flat screen telly, a radiator in the bathroom that worked, repaired tileing,a proper wardrobe, bedside lights, a small fridge and a new bed.

Why do the management exspect guests to stay in a room that is not as good as their own bedrom at home and pay for it ?

We have been coming to the imperial since 2006 because we love the seaside walks, the golf, the railway and the town and the hotel , just hoping that on our next visit the imperail lives up to its name. Each visit we are told about what will improve in the years to come, we,re waiting.

Simply look at your reviews here and do something about it please.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supersnooper44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Many thanks for providing your feedback, we really do appreciate and value all of our guest’s comments. I can assure you that we are taking steps to renovate and improve the hotel and have, to date, replaced the roof and are now in the process of updating and improving our rooms and facilities. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I returned here for lunch after a number of years of absence. I used stay at this hotel regularly and regrettably a regular issue was helpful and friendly staff but disorganised and poor management. Accor have now taken over but if our experience at lunch is anything to go by they have let matters get worse. We decided to take a hot snack lunch after a morning on the beach at Hythe. As other reviews have stated the hotel sits in a stunning situation by the sea. I had in mind a quick lunch in the spa bar and then a return to the beach. On enquiry in reception we were told it was open for hot meals all day. We all trooped down to the spa to be told no lunch was available at all that day...perhaps surprising as it was a Bank Holiday. However we were told that snack lunches were available in the main lounges as ordered from the hotel bar. At the bar we were told there was an acceptable 20 minute delay. However everything went downhill from there. Courses arrived in a disorganised staggered manner but mostly they did not arrive at all until various calls were made to the kitchen to remind them of our presence (no less than 6 calls). Unfortunately we were not alone as a growing crowd of disgruntled patrons became increasingly vocal - although the hotel was far from overwhelmed by a holiday crowd. As the afternoon wore on a number of people arrived for afternoon tea - an advertised feature at this hotel. However after waiting a substantial time, they were told that none was left. One family were especially upset as they had travelled a long distance with their aged grandmother and had particularly booked this tea as a holiday treat. The whole scene would have turned very ugly if the staff themselves had not been consistently very pleasant and were clearly genuinely embarrassed by the failure of the hotel. They even offered to go to a nearby quality supermarket to buy the necessary ingredients - although this was in fact closed because of the holiday. Their skill sufficiently diffused the situation for which the non-existent management should be grateful. I was one of several who went to reception to ask to see the duty manager. We were firmly told that there was no duty manager, the first time I have ever been told this in an Accor Hotel, and astonishing given the Imperial's status and size. One reason for our visit was consider whether we should put up family there at a forthcoming get together. I think you will guess our conclusion. If this review is read by Accor I really hope they take good note. This hotel has the potential to be one of the finest in the South East but they really have to get their act together first.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Richard087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very disappointed to hear your comments regarding your lunch experience at the Hythe Imperial. Your comments have been passed directly to our Food and Beverage Manager, who is treating them very seriously. I am concerned as to why you were informed that a Duty Manager was not available as we have a manager on duty throughout every day. I will personally look into this matter. I am, however, pleased to hear your comments regarding the manner in which our staff dealt with these issues. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
11
Reviewed 2 January 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbieRickmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Dirty unkept £6 for "broadband" that does not work, rooms smell, daren't eat in the restaurant so off to an Italian. Corridors full of ditritus from other guests, no bag drop off area for reception, i could go on and on and on....

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I am very disappointed to hear your comments and that your stay did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express me sincerest apologies for this.

WIFI internet works correctly accross the hotel with boosters and some of them are in guest's bedrooms that may be switched off and need to activated again. Also, I would like to inform you that we have a bag drop off area behind reception and they would have been more than happy to have looked after your belongings, had you required so.

Kind regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I love being pampered and spend a small fortune. I was given a £35 gift voucher off friends so decided to top it up and today visited the spa for a deluxe pedicure treatment, the price was £45.00, over £15.00 more than local local beauty salons nearby. I was expecting something special, due to the price. I was shown to an open cubicle where you could hear the conversation in the cubicle next door, the floor looked dirty. The treatment started off as you'd expect the highlight being the heated boots which were not overly warm and one of them was ripped, there was no relaxing half leg massage and my heels still need work done on them. The light was terrible in the cubicle and even the therapist seemed to struggle applying the nail polish. The therapist was lovely but you can only work with what you are given. I didn't want to complain to her as she had tried her best and there was noone else there when I paid.

I left instead of feeling relaxed I felt robbed and very disappointed. I would not recommend this place

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louisehooley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we really value our guest’s feedback. I am extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your treatment and will ensure that your comments are passed on to our Spa Manager so that immediate improvements can be made. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
67 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
704 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandgate Hotel
Sandgate Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
326 reviews
23 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: £43 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing