We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here Saturday night - couldn't fault the staff we came in to contact with. All very friendly and extremely helpful. Really surprised at seeing some of the negative reviews. Room was really comfortable.

We ate in the bar where the food was excellent - fresh and perfectly cooked.

Would visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really value it. I am very pleased to hear your comments regarding our staff and I will ensure that this is passed on to them as I am sure it will encourage them to continue to provide superior customer service. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please remember to check the Mercure website for the best available rates and deals. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

Although we only stayed one night this time, we were overwhelmed not only with the glorious accommodation offered to us but also with the dining. The dinner we had was second to none and we found all the staff to be kind, helpful, generous, polite and above all happy. The facilities are still the best we have encountered and we would and do highly recommend The Hythe to all of our friends and family. The last hotel we stayed at was the deVere in Southampton which although was pleasant, didn't come close to the service we received here.

I never leave feedback or answer surveys but this was something different.

Room Tip: Sea View. Spectacular if you like the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your feedback and compliments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the Hythe Imperial and thoroughly enjoyed our facilties, meals and service provided to you and your family. Thank you very much for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with a further enjoyable experience. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We booked in the night prior to travelling to Calais this hotel does not reflect the website representation. Dirty rude staff, desperately needs renovating, faulty towers is an understatement. Arriving at 6pm there were dirty plates and glasses on landings and bottles propped up near the lifts.

The tables in the bar were dirty we didn't risk eating there but found a lovely italian in Hythe. Breakfast was awful fish cold in the middle hard poached eggs.

Don't stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Many thanks for providing your feedback which is very important for us to keep improving.
I am very disappointed to hear your comments which are in line with your husband's review and they are taken very seriously and with the utmost respect so that immediate improvements can be made.

Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We only stayed one night ,in the depth of Winter but it was warm, cosy, good dining room and efficient staff. No criticism at all. Hythe is a quaint little place too, though everything closes at 5.0p.m. in winter!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonbjofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your compliments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Hythe and found the hotel very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please remember to check the Mercure website for best available rates and deals. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks 20 years ago for a seminar. At that time it was a far better hotel. The sea view room was ok but need badly refurbishment as some other parts of hotel as well. The room smelt as if it hadn´t been in use for quite some time. The bathroom could have been better too. The carpets here and there in the hotel are torn and look old. The bar food was nice but think the prices are high considering the portion one gets. However due to the location and the small picturesque town centre of Hythe I would most probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hafiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hythe Imperial. We are in the process of updating and improving and rooms and facilities and ensure that our prices are in line with national standards. We will, however, look into this following your feedback and ensure that this remains the case. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Imperial and can recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, we ate breakfast both days which was really nice. We used the swimming pool and the spa facilites.
We liked the location on the hotel as it is right on the sea front so we could have a stroll and also near the small high street near a few nice pubs.
Would recommend to anyone wanted to get away for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1963Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Many thanks for your review and compliments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away with friends and made good use of our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please check our Mercure website for the best available rates and deals. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Where else in southern England could you find a hotel next to the sea,with a indoor pool, spa, gym and with its own super, well established golf course , all within 10 minutes walk of the town centre which has a good selection of restuarants ?

What a terrible shame that the hotel owners haven,t spent the money they have recieved from selling off the gardens for developements and the golf courses club house.
Room 417 could be superb if it had a new flat screen telly, a radiator in the bathroom that worked, repaired tileing,a proper wardrobe, bedside lights, a small fridge and a new bed.

Why do the management exspect guests to stay in a room that is not as good as their own bedrom at home and pay for it ?

We have been coming to the imperial since 2006 because we love the seaside walks, the golf, the railway and the town and the hotel , just hoping that on our next visit the imperail lives up to its name. Each visit we are told about what will improve in the years to come, we,re waiting.

Simply look at your reviews here and do something about it please.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supersnooper44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Many thanks for providing your feedback, we really do appreciate and value all of our guest’s comments. I can assure you that we are taking steps to renovate and improve the hotel and have, to date, replaced the roof and are now in the process of updating and improving our rooms and facilities. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
67 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
704 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandgate Hotel
Sandgate Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
326 reviews
23 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: £42 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing