We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Medway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our wedding anniversary falls on New Year's Eve so we were looking for something special and we found that at the imperial
I had booked a suite room with sea view and we were not disappointed our room was very nice with a four poster bed separate lounge area and nice bathroom.
The view from our room was stunning with a big storm blowing making our view stunning.
My wife had booked some spa treatments which she tells me were very good so if she is happy so am I
The New Year's Eve gala dinner was black tie and the meal was superb followed up with live band entertainment till 2 next day
We went to bed in a very comfortable bed the only complaint I may have is that the heating was too good and the whole hotel seemed too warm overall.
Breakfast New Year's Day was a sumptuous feast with a magnificent buffet and included just about everything anyone would like, we were very impressed.
Overall a very enjoyable experience which we will be doing again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and review and for your compliments, we really appreciate them. I am delighted to hear that the team at the Hythe Imperial were able to provide you both with a memorable stay for two very special occassions. I will ensure that all of your comments are passed on to them team, who work hard to provide a superior customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future . Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    573
    372
    207
    161
See reviews for
386
809
51
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
deal kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Yet again we stayed here after husband's Xmas party. Room delightful and extras like glossy magazine and nice biscuits made visit a real treat. Breakfast delicious and plentiful and staff charming. Party was great fun as usual.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k444dmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you very much for providing a review and for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your husband’s christmas party here at the Imperial and that we were able to provide a fun and memorable event. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for a further enjoyable stay. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A group of us stayed for a night with evening meal and breakfast, we were a bit worried after reading a lot of the negative reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. Staff were good food was nice enough, drinks expensive but then you expect this in a hotel. Out of 3 rooms booked 2 were on the small size and 1 was a very nice size although the same price was paid for each which was a bit confusing. If we stayed again which is quite likely we will request the room number, all in all a nice relaxing overnight stay as we didn't even need to venture outside the hotel which is what we were hoping for. We did have the pigeons sat on the window sill as an alarm call, not too bad though.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winniethepoohLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and provide your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you and the other guests in your group enjoyed your stays at the Hythe Imperial and made the most of our facilities we offer. With regard to the rooms, every individual room within this hotel is unique, varying in size and character, adding to the charm of this building. Our Reservations team will be more than happy to discuss this with you in order to find you the perfect room for your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed 22nd Dec, booked online and upgraded to sea view with breakfast and dinner. Offered room 409 but couldn't see the sea unless standing at the window. Moved to room 206 better but small. Hotel has a pigeon problem and there was at least 1/4inch layer of of pigeon faeces on the small balcony as well as splashes up the window including the inside of the secondary glazing. The rim of the toilet was dirty, however we only discovered this when laying in the bath, clearly the cleaner only cleaned the bit she could see.
We consider that this was over priced, especially as there was a function in the dining room and the disco could be heard throughout the hotel until 1am.
We have written to the management twice without an acknowledgement. We have also written to England.com as the hotel is showing their 4* sign but apparently their rating lapsed in 2009.
All in all a very disappointing stay. Patricia

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hythe hotels

kent
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

wonderful stay jan 12th-13th lovely room the churchill room very impressed huge room with spa bath, bathrobe and slippers. Used the gym and pool lounged around the pool with our books, used the spa facilites Had a lovely meal in the restuarant then drinks in the bar. Yes some parts need refubishment but this did not hinder our stay this is an old building with lots of charm. Would recommend this hotel to freinds and relatives as we very much enjoyed our stay. Many thanks to all the staff who made us feel welcome :-)

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review and compliments, we really appreciate them. I am delighted to hear that we were able to provide you and husband with a relaxing and memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you both back and your friends and family who I am pleased to hear have been recommended by you. Please remember to check our Mercure website for best available rates and deals. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights here in January on business and was very pleased with the quality of the rooms and food etc. The hotel also has a golf course and leisure club, though work meant I could not indulge in either of these! The hotel is located right on the seafront so a sea view room would be great in better weather. I had a standard room at the rear, which was fine as it overlooks gardens. All in all good value with my only gripe being the extra charge to use wifi. I expect this to be inclusive at the room charge I paid. Good food in the restaurant but not cheap.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our rooms and the facilities which we are able to offer to our guests. Unfortunately, the charge for Wifi is a standard charge across all Accor hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when hopefully you will have the opportunity to make the most of our facilities. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here Saturday night - couldn't fault the staff we came in to contact with. All very friendly and extremely helpful. Really surprised at seeing some of the negative reviews. Room was really comfortable.

We ate in the bar where the food was excellent - fresh and perfectly cooked.

Would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, we really value it. I am very pleased to hear your comments regarding our staff and I will ensure that this is passed on to them as I am sure it will encourage them to continue to provide superior customer service. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please remember to check the Mercure website for the best available rates and deals. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
49 reviews
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,199 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,597 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Property: Hythe Imperial
Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing