We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hythe Imperial hotel for our one year wedding anniversary. We had an amazing, relaxing and enjoyable time. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially Harriet at reception. I called to arrange flowers to be placed in the room for my wife when we arrived.

Our room was spot on. We had a lovely four poster bedroom with an amazing sea view. Harriet had also arranged for a bottle of champagne which was with the flowers when we arrived to our room. The room was very spacious and clean.

We had dinner at the hotel which again was lovely. I had lamb shank and my wife had fillet steak.

The spa facilities were really good, good size pool, jacuzzi spa and steam room.

We will be booking our second year anniversary with the hotel next year.

Thank you to all the staff for a really relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Great value for money and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone of any age.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0lin081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Nice public area hotel but poor quailty sleeping rooms. We came on a very hot day. The place has no air conditioning. Asked to have windows opened but the staff said they could not. It was too hot to sleep. Next night I finally figured a way to open windows myself. Restaurant where fine but staff not very accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Location is very good with sea view our front room was big and comfy.
The bar prices are silly , £63 for 6 drinks!
Service and staff good but, this fad of covering oneself in tattos is off putting when being served.
On the basis of my visit on route to France, if I had to I would stay again .

A Premier Inn is just as comfy at less cost, I'm sure it would not cost £63 for 6 drinks there!

Room Tip: Drink water !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We will definately come back here again, the suite was lovely and very clean and comfortable, staff very welcoming, evening meal was superb as was the breakfast delivered to our room, had a great nights sleep, the pool was nice and warm, the hydro pool very large and relaxing, a great hotel and one night is definately not enough, a great location also.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for a corner suite, views over both golf course and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Fantastic location looking out over the English Channel. This has obviously been a most impressive hotel in its day and the public rooms still reflect some of that grandure, if only the bedrooms were the same. No real issues it is all just a bit tired, it is like walking onto the set of a Hurcule Poirot film. Room was hot and stuffy and leaving the window open ran the rick of feathered visitors popping in, the ceiling fan helped a bit but air con was definitely needed.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Had a wonderful 1 night stay at this most imposing and welcoming hotel on the occasion of the Hythe Venetian Carnival. Staff were professional and friendly, the room was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was particularly good. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What a great evening with friends! We all live locally and decided to give the restaurant a go after hearing they have a new head chef. From the moment we stepped out of the car we were made to feel welcome. This attentive attitude was maintained by all members of staff throughout the evening. We were shown to our table and made comfortable. The new menu was very appealing to all in our party, this included two vegetarians. The portions sizes and presentation were perfect and the meal was also cooked to perfection. After our meal we were treated to live music in the bar. The perfect way to cap off a really enjoyable evening!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
63 reviews
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,083 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
692 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: £54 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing