We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for short break in Kent”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    554
    362
    206
    160
See reviews for
372
773
50
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed overnight ahead of taking the Euro Tunnel the following morning. The hotel's location is excellent for this, only 15 minutes drive to the terminal.
The hotel is under-going a major renovation (we were not aware of this when we booked).
The Reception and Bar area were pleasant enough but the corridors and our room were from a by-gone era - somewhat like visiting an elderly aunt's house.
There were two other plus points - the swimming pool and spa area were great to use after a long drive and more importantly, the staff - young, enthusiastic and very professional, especially in the Bar, where we ate our evening meal.
We had an excellently priced 'room-only' rate - preferring a late breakfast in France.

Room Tip: Check on the progress of the renovation if you are staying for more than 1 night. The lifts were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Karin,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on your recent stay at Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed our service and facilities like Spa and Swimming pool. It is also great to know that you have noticed the enthusiastic and friendly staff and enjoyed your meal in the bar.

We are going through a huge renovation of the building as you have noticed that in few areas of the hotel. The renovation is important for us to provide the best standard to our guests. All the rooms and corridors will be done over next 12 months period. I assure you that after the complete renovation, next time you visit us, you will find this hotel more comfortable and presentable.

I wish to welcome you again at Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa.

Regards,

Kaushik Guha Majumder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

For our one year anniversary my boyfriend and I booked a night at the Imperial Hotel in Hythe, not knowing what to expect we just chose a hotel that was close by. Arriving at the hotel the staff were welcoming and very polite. The room was AMAZING! The bathroom was massive; with two power showers and a jacuzzi bath which could have easily been used as a swimming pool. We had a lovely romantic walk cross the coast line, the scenery was certainly worth going braving the cold. the sunset is breathtaking.

I would thoroughly recommend going down to the spa as son as you get there. The choice of treatments is astounding and the staff are very attentive. I was treated to a massage and then relaxed in the " heated stone room"; it seems everywhere you look are thoughtful little touches that make your stay so much more relaxing and peaceful.

The food is AMAZING! I cannot praise their food higher. We had a three course meal and could not fault one single thing; the staff were also very thorough.

The room was lovely. Very clean and warm. We had the best night sleep...ever. The bed was so comfortable and we had a perfect amount of space (as we both like to hog the covers).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! it is a perfect place for couples to stay. I was the most relaxed I has been for a long time and felt I did not have to worry about anything. If you have booked a room here you will have an amazing time. Just make sure you check out the spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment on Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to know that our team effort made your anniversary best ever. I have passed your comment to the relevant departments to encourage them.

Please feel free to contact me next time you are visiting us as I would like to take the opportunity to meet and welcome you personally to make your next visit at South coast more comfortable.

Your sincerely,

Kaushik Guha Majumder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed there for one night as a Spa Break , and were really impressed by it. There had been less than favourable reports in the past, but since then it has undergone a complete refurb. The spa was wonderfull, and every thing is clean and tidy . The rest of the hotel , is in excellent condition also. We had Breakfast, which was great,and the staff were attentive, and nothing was too much trouble. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: We had a Sea view , which was nice to wake up too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timthetaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay completely and noticed the positive changes we have done. I have passed your comment on hotel staff to the relevant department and thanks again for that.

I wish to welcome you back to Hythe Imperial again next time you visit Hythe.

Regards,

Kaushik Guha Majumder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As a last minute treat for my dads Birthday I booked a cream tea for four.
Absolutely fantastic - service was impeccable, cleanliness second to none. Deliciously warm scones, a good selection of teas and coffees and finished with a complimentary glass of prosecco.
The waiter even went out of his way to make a sparkling orange juice so my daughter could join in.
Highly recommend this to anyone and will definitely be on the revisit list. The only dilemma was whether to serve jam &with cream or Cream with jam??

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Christopher,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on tripadvisor about your cream tea experience at Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed the experience very much and thank you again for recommending us to others for the quality we have in our staff, service and ambience.

I wish to welcome you back again to Hythe Imperial again.

Regards,

Kaushik Guha Majumder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel as we were attending a black tie function in the hotel.
What a lovely reception the staff gave us and the hotel room was exquisite with an amazing sea view from the main room and views across the golf course and along the coast, from the bathroom. The room was sumptuous and warm and made a wonderful oasis during our busy weekend. The breakfast was delicious and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Well done and thank you.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Caroline,

Thank you very very much for such a lovely review on Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa. I am very much delighted to know that you have enjoyed your entire stay in every way. All guest's comments are valuable to us and I will pass all your comments to relevant departments which will boost them up to do better in future.

I look forward to welcome you again at Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa.

Regards,

Kaushik Guha Majumder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex,
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Although we got a really cheap deal for this hotel we were surprised with the comfort of our room. Lots of space and beautiful furnishings. No complaints about breakfast either. The only thing that would have been nice was to be shown by the receptionist where things where (spa etc.) and guide us better to our room as it is a huge building.
As a spa break it worked ok but again we were not informed about towels/robes and exactly what the facilities were.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScattyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us on tripadvisor. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa. All guest comments are very much valuable to us as it helps us to make improvement.

I have passed your comments to the relevant departments and I wish to welcome you again at Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa.

Regards,

Kaushik Guha Majumder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
4.2 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
17.7 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Property: Hythe Imperial
Address: Princes Parade | Kent, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing