We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional seaside hotel being returned to a former glory”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for the first night of a short break to the UK from France as we were arriving late and it was close to Dover ferry port and friends and family in Kent. We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of our room which was plushly carpeted with a luxurious bed and furnished with one off pieces of genuine antique furniture (dressing table, chest of drawers, desk), so different from the usual formula-type hotels one sees everywhere these days. This made it feel like a unique rather than a ubiquitous experience. Both bathroom (with full-sized bath) and bedroom had been recently refurbished and our room had a small lobby with cupboards, making it feel more private and spacious. There were good quality complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and had we had more time we would have made use of the in-house spa and swimming pool. The staff were pleasant and helpful, offering to carry our luggage up to our 1st floor room. It's a shame there aren't more older style hotels like the Hythe Imperial, that have been refurbished to this standard as the experience of staying in such a place is fast disappearing and the alternative is a very soulless one. We would definitely recommend this hotel as a quality place to stay and would have no hesitation in returning in the future.

Room Tip: We can only speak about ours on the 1st floor which was excellent as we have no experience of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reposriberac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank royCambrils_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at the Mercure in Hythe before using the Channel Tunnel the next morning. The hotel is very well positioned and great value for money. The rooms are a little dated, but none the less, very nice. The bed was comfy and the room was quiet, but much, much too hot, and even with the window open I was still very hot. I would suggest having a word with reception well before settling down if you find the room is hot when you check in.
A nice 15 minuet walk into Hythe and the town is very nice with a good selection of pubs and places to eat. I would certainly use this hotel again, but ask them to turn the heat down first.

Room Tip: Check the heating before going to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is our 2nd stay here and we had a free upgrade to a sea view - of the diggers moving the shingle! Our room was obviously recently refurbished, but the bathroom sadly missed out - the toilet was very hard to flush and the bath was in desperate need of descaling, the loo paper must have come from Aldi in the town, it definitely wasn't what you'd expect from a 4* hotel. Also a really cheap (Aldi again?) roller blind which did nothing to reduce light had replaced the previous blind - the unrepaired holes in the window surround and the remaining cord tie only served as reminders that attention to detail was somewhat lacking. Some of the public areas look much improved - pity the residential areas still have very sad looking carpet.
The spa was great and the gym manager was helpful and friendly. Pool was warm, jacuzzi very hot but the showers mere dribbles - again descaling required. Pity the refurb doesn't extend to a water softener.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionM1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Me and my BFF's Sarah and Julie needed some catch up time - We hadn't seen each other for months
Found an unbeatable deal at the Imperial, perfect just before Christmas time to unwind and non stop chatting and not expensive.
Let me start by saying Wow there's a fresh new buzz about the place- The refurb is well under way the reception and restaurant are looking mighty fine and everywhere looked so beautiful with winter wonderland Christmas trees and dec's. The Restaurant had literally just relaunched under it's new name 'Coast' with a new chef on board and a lovely fresh new look - we had a really fantastic meal - I recommend the seared scallops with sanfire -Gorgeous!. The staff also seem to have a spring in their step and always a friendly smile on their faces - There's such a good atmosphere at the moment, I'm a bit of a regular at the old imp I've always found it had a lovely family run feel about it and maybe people have moaned' the decors a bit tired ' but now there's a real feel of optimism about the place - If like some of the moaners you don't get what you wanted ask nicely and i'm sure the staff will do everything they can to make you happy!!!
We had a great time in the spa, a lovely afternoon tea, A lovely room with a massive bathroom
a great nights sleep (really good mattress)Breakfast was fab -great sausage and best of all a top class meal - compliments to the new chef
I'd like to thank Harriet and Laura on reception-nothing was too much trouble and all the staff in the restaurant . Well done The Imp - Me and the girls loved it and will be back.
Vicky B

Room Tip: Victoria Suite - lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Total chaos!!!! Talk about left and right hands!! Stayed 2 nights and found everything disorganised in every area! Sat eve in restaurant ordered fillet steak wih garlic butter as on menu, meal arrived with cream hollandaise sauce, asked for replacement finished meal before garlic butter was brought out. Sunday evening in bar, asked for Bells whisky, to be told that 'we dont do it' eventually manager arrived with a bells but there is a total lack of organisation or communication within the hotel, such a shame!!!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
678 reviews
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,052 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,291 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
4.2 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: £61 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing