We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hen do spa day.”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hen do spa day.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My bridesmaids booked us a spa day for my hen do, and we was all thrilled with the day from start to finish. In the description it said 30 min treatment and a light lunch with full use of all the facilities. We was pleasantly surprised with the choices for lunch we all had the burger on the the staffs recommendation and it was really tasty, you could tell it was proper hand made from butcher meat. On arrival we was given robes towels and slippers and all the tea coffee and water we wanted. 2 of us went in at a time for our chosen treatments while the rest enjoyed all other facilities swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, gym and sun loungers to relax on. All in all it was a great day nothing was to much trouble. Treatments we had were all really good and felt so relaxed after. The staff were all really helpful! Special thanks to Katie, Kenzie, Vesna!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    581
    375
    208
    161
See reviews for
390
818
51
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Convenient for our early start on Eurotunnel we had 2 rooms on the 4th floor at the hotel. The last time we stopped was 13 years ago and had high expectations. Both rooms seemed tired and in need of refurb. We had a good sized bathroom but the hot water barely trickled out of the tap. The shower wasn't great but as we arrived at 7pm and departed at 6am we didn't expect any plumbing repairs to be fair. We didn't eat there so can't comment. Drink in the bar and pleasant bar staff. The security on the room door was barely functional. The handle had worn a hole into the door and the whole thing was rattling and weak. The reception and common area's are freshly refurbed and nice. Just wish I could have said the same about the fourth floor!

Room Tip: Avoid 4th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johhnyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for one night for our anniversary and were not disappointed . The Hotel is perhaps a little tired but we only paid £50.00 for B&B and was excellent value for money.We had a sea view on the Fourth floor the room was spacious decor was OK but the bathroom let it down a bit. Everything was very clean and the Staff friendly & helpful . We did not use the Spa or pool as the weather was too nice to be inside. Hythe is a charming little town with no tatty shops cafes or Pubs on the Prom. The town is a short walk from the Hotel and has several Pubs & Restaurants.The breakfast in the morning was good and you could choose from cook to order , buffet ,fruit ,cereal , cold meats & pastries The staff in the morning were very attentive and there was no shortage of them.

Room Tip: We stayed if Room 410 with a good view of the sea it was fairly quiet. The only down side you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliveoHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a work event. Food was lovely breakfast and both dinners, although the tea provided in the breaks was dreadful - so weak! Communal rooms were comfortable - although still smelling of paint. (Not sure about the overwhelming pinkness in the ladies 'powder room'). Bedroom was clean and spacious but the mattress was far too soft for my liking. Broadband so slow I gave up trying. The staff were mostly friendly but special mention must go to Beth (events management?) who was friendly, helpful, energetic and basically brilliant!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I went here at the weekend with my Mum and another 2 friends. There was a mix up when we arrived which meant only 1 room had been reserved for us - even though I had pre-booked and paid for 2 rooms. Luckily there was another room available but it was of a completely different standard of quality which, given I was charged the same price for each room, was unacceptable. After complaining we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne. The receptionist was extremely unfriendly upon arrival and when I enquired about spa treatments she barked at me "Its fully booked all weekend" without looking up. This was a shame considering we had come here purely to relax in the spa but that's my own fault for not prebooking treatments. The spa area was ok -very busy and loads of kids in the pool. The rooms were shabby - holes in the blinds and carpets but apparently they are refurbing soon. We did spend a few hours in the bar after returning from a meal out in Hythe and there was one member of staff who was absolutely lovely and this was the most enjoyable part of the stay. Definitely not the relaxing spa break I was hoping for

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 205BeckyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us about your recent stay at Hythe Imperial. I am very disappointed to know that your stay wasn't satisfactory this time with us due to some unfortunate incidents.

You have mentioned about the booking of two rooms, which you booked through Spabreak.com and you were correct as you had the confirmation with you for two rooms, but my receptionist also showed you upon arrival the confirmation we have from Spabreak.com which states 1 room for double occupancy. It was a communication error from spabreak about your amendmended booking of second room which we never received. Thankfully we had a room left which we were able to offer you then and there. I guess my receptionist did well on that situation even it wasn't hotel's fault. The second room in your opinion was inferior, but they are actualy same category. All our rooms differ in terms of decor, sizes and I confirm that you have been given same type of rooms as for twin room, we have only one category, which is standard twins.

Secondly, you have been offered complimentory dinner for all four of you just to make you comfortable, which you have declined, then my Reception Manager decided to give you a complimentory sparkling wine which you accepted to have in the pool area. After hearing the whole incident from my Reception Manager, I decided not to send any cheap sparkling, rather to send you a bottle of Laurent Perrier Champagne. I think from the hotel management side, we have showed a great gesture and tried our best to lift up your mood.

Thirdly, you have complained about not getting any Spa treatment. Just to inform you that we are a leisure and spa hotel and our spa is very busy sometimes, so that need to be booked beforehand. Your room booking was on B&B and there was no request of spa treatment. But I hope you understand that if we had any slots available that day, we could have fit you in as we did in case of your room.

I am glad to hear about the bar team member service was lovely and that part you have really enjoyed. I wish to welcome you again at Hythe Imperial and believe next time you will enjoy it completely.

Regards,

Kaushik Guha Majumder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hythe hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Decided to go back to the Imperial, last minute, 1st day of Spring Trip. Haven't been back to Hotel since August due to poor weather, we normally go 4/5 times a year for short breaks and our annual summer holiday for the last three years.
The hotel is undergoing major refurbishment, and the the bar and restaurant look stunning. We sneaked a peak at the ballroom already dressed for its first wedding since the refurb., and it was breathtaking. I was concerned the hotel would lose some of its charm and individuality, but the developers haven't turned it into a bland run of the mill chain hotel, thankfully.
I always think of the Imperial as a charming old lady by the sea, and she has retained her charm.

The staff seem really proud of the hotel, and refurb., keen to show me all the changes, and offer me lots of information about the new Chef on board. They are clearly very excited.
Harriett was on hand at reception helping with a wedding party . The reception girls really do meet you with a smile and have lots of local info on local places of interest for kids and adults alike.

The room was delightful, and so was our lunch. After a walk on the beach, a game of tennis we took a dip in the pool. I can honestly say that after coming to the hotel for 25years, as a couple and then with the family and extended family, each time its great. We are greeted warmly and nothing is too much trouble. Children are made very welcome, and there is plenty for them to do. Swimming, cycling, tennis, and plenty of fresh air, and all free!

The hotel is going from strength to strength, and the new look reception rooms and bar and dining room look stunning along with great food, its a winning combination.
I am looking forward to my Easter break, already. Well Done ...

Room Tip: Sea view will keep you gazing for hours! Great food in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 351jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Hythe Imperial. I am delighted to hear that your stay was satisfactory and you will be back to us in Easter.

I have passed your comments to all staff which I am sure will encourage them to do better everytime.

I will be looking forward to welcome you back at Hythe Imperial during Easter.

Regards,

Kaushik guha Majumder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
54 reviews
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,226 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Property: Hythe Imperial
Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing