We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After reading the reviews on this hotel I was not expecting much, however apart form the building works (not working at the weekend) and the rooms needing a bit if loving care, we had lovely time and will be returning. The food was good. The swimming pool etc. was good the staff helpful and friendly when needed, I can understand why some would not like due to the age but the staff make up for this I have been a Sofitel user for years, but after this I will look at the Mercure range for more weekend breaks

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheridankent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,179 - 1,185 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel has great character and although the rooms are a little tired it really didn't matter. The staff were well trained everybody knew exactly what was expected of them and seemed happy to be working there.
This was by far the biggest positive and it made our weekend. The so called family run establishments who often fall well short in my experience should visit to see just how it should be done

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tel123brig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We as a family of four live up north and came down to visit family and for our children to experience the beautiful fresh sea air.

On arrival our room wasn't quite ready as we were slightly early so we had some lunch in the Kazz bar (lovely food) Harriet Jarvis took the time to come down to inform us our room was ready as she knew my youngest was ready for her nap and wanted to unpack ect.

Breakfast the following morning was delicious with plenty of option- although who seemed like the restaurant manager needed some social skills, came across slightly unpleasant.

Our overall stay was just delightful and shall be returning in May...

Harriet made our weekend that little bit extra special. A very caring considerate receptionist, who will go out of her way to provide excellent service. She's a credit to the hotel, not forgetting grace and kat who were also very lovely young girls... Thank you imperial xx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shardsjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My bridesmaids booked us a spa day for my hen do, and we was all thrilled with the day from start to finish. In the description it said 30 min treatment and a light lunch with full use of all the facilities. We was pleasantly surprised with the choices for lunch we all had the burger on the the staffs recommendation and it was really tasty, you could tell it was proper hand made from butcher meat. On arrival we was given robes towels and slippers and all the tea coffee and water we wanted. 2 of us went in at a time for our chosen treatments while the rest enjoyed all other facilities swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, gym and sun loungers to relax on. All in all it was a great day nothing was to much trouble. Treatments we had were all really good and felt so relaxed after. The staff were all really helpful! Special thanks to Katie, Kenzie, Vesna!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Convenient for our early start on Eurotunnel we had 2 rooms on the 4th floor at the hotel. The last time we stopped was 13 years ago and had high expectations. Both rooms seemed tired and in need of refurb. We had a good sized bathroom but the hot water barely trickled out of the tap. The shower wasn't great but as we arrived at 7pm and departed at 6am we didn't expect any plumbing repairs to be fair. We didn't eat there so can't comment. Drink in the bar and pleasant bar staff. The security on the room door was barely functional. The handle had worn a hole into the door and the whole thing was rattling and weak. The reception and common area's are freshly refurbed and nice. Just wish I could have said the same about the fourth floor!

Room Tip: Avoid 4th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johhnyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for one night for our anniversary and were not disappointed . The Hotel is perhaps a little tired but we only paid £50.00 for B&B and was excellent value for money.We had a sea view on the Fourth floor the room was spacious decor was OK but the bathroom let it down a bit. Everything was very clean and the Staff friendly & helpful . We did not use the Spa or pool as the weather was too nice to be inside. Hythe is a charming little town with no tatty shops cafes or Pubs on the Prom. The town is a short walk from the Hotel and has several Pubs & Restaurants.The breakfast in the morning was good and you could choose from cook to order , buffet ,fruit ,cereal , cold meats & pastries The staff in the morning were very attentive and there was no shortage of them.

Room Tip: We stayed if Room 410 with a good view of the sea it was fairly quiet. The only down side you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliveoHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
67 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
704 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandgate Hotel
Sandgate Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
326 reviews
23 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: £43 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing