We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room with a great view”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My partner and I had a beautiful room with a great view, we stayed in room 316 and had a generously sized double bed with two bedside tables, a cupboard, two chest of draws and a vanity desk (with a hair dryer). There was a small room joining the bedroom to the bathroom (which had an ironing board) and the bathroom had two showers, a jacuzzi (whose jets were a tad disappointing), a loo and sink.

We did feel a little insecure with not being able to lock the door from the inside and there was a gap between the door and floor which let in a lot of noise. The lift up to the room was rather small and very slow and when the doors opened on our floor we felt that it wasn't as "done up" as the ground floor.

The staff were very accommodating and helped us when we needed it, and they were very attentive in the restaurant (although we were asked whether we wanted water 3 times before we received any) and the food was nice.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floors seem to have recently been renovated and its definitely worth asking f...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Mercure Hythe Imperial regarding your recent stay. I am glad to know that most of your stay was satisfactory.

We are going through refurbishment and all the other floors and rooms will be revamped over this year and next year. I assure you that you will find this hotel has more to offer once the revamp is complete.

I wish to welcome you back to Mercure Hythe Imperial during your next visit to South coast.

Your sincerely,

Kaushik Guha Majumder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
There are newer reviews for Hythe Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just one night ,just to relax , we loved the hotel
It's in a great location , we paid extra for a seaview and I'm glad we did .
Ten minute walk to the town with its great bars . The kings head being the best.
The room was clean , the pillows were awful for me but that's personal taste .
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice .
We opted to have dinner out as we just didn't fancy anything on the menu that day but it all looked fine .
We will definitely come back , probably for 2 nights next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliepwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Hythe Imperial. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am delighted that you will choose us to came here again in future.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kaushik Guha Majumder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel looks amazing and has a great position on the seafront. Some of the public areas have been refurbished since I stayed here last and were quite nice. We got a free upgrade to a Junior Suite which was gratefully received but the overall experience was still underwhelming and still felt a bit overpriced despite the upgrade! On the plus side the view was good, the bed was comfortable and the layout of the room was nice.However the fixtures and fittings probably looked good in 1983 but alas now just look very tired and worn out. Breakfast was ok foodwise but like some over reviewers we found the service was pretty poor and we had to go and find someone to serve us coffee.
I wouldn't discourage people from staying here as it is still one of the best hotels in the area but I would recommend that you manage your expectations accordingly!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Hythe Imperial, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations completely. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. We are going through refurbishment as you have noticed the change, and the other areas will be done periodically and assure you that it will live up to your expectation once completed.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Hythe Imperial and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Kaushik Guh aMajumder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends for just one night. Paid extra to have sea view and it was really worth it!

My room was large and comfortable but a little tired. As on 4th floor window didn't open that far bit others has pigeons fly in. There is building work going on but didn't inconvenience us!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us upon your recent stay at Mercure Hythe Imperial. I am delighted to know that your stay was satisfactory and you liked the room. We are going through planned refurbishment as you have noticed the building work outside and the room will be revamped once we finish with outside work. I assure you after the complete revamp, you will find this hotel has more to offer.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kaushik Guha Majumder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I wrote the following email to the General Manager(27/6/14) and have not received a reply!
"We have been visiting Coast on a regular basis since January this year and have always enjoyed our experience.We visited last evening and could not fail to notice a very distinct difference.Jacob and his team were,as always,welcoming and efficient.But we were so disappointed with the new menu.Yes,the price has been reduced but we felt the quality and choice had been jeopardised.Starters were just fine but no option for a supplement.Main dishes were so disappointing-to say the least-Steak and Ale Pie was delicious but we go to our local pub for Pie!!Also portions have been influenced by the reduction in price.Desserts were the most affected-I don't feel Ice Cream alone and Fruit Salad qualifies'Fine Dining" particularly for a charge of £5.We loved Coast and shall stay with you and see how it goes.I appreciate you have budgets to stick to but am not sure this is a good move.Just a minor thing but your Website still gives the old men and options-should this be amended.This is not a complaint just my views and thoughts-we used to bring guests to Coast but feel we may have to find another venue to impress! Kind Regards
Perhaps this means of contact will prompt some sort or reply or even an acknowledgement.

Room Tip: We did not stay the night so cannot comment
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank janstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor regarding your recent experience at Coast restaurant. First of all I would like to thank you for being a loyal guest and apologise for giving you cause to complain. I am so sorry if there was a delay in response from us as you have mentioned and it is purely because the General Manager is on annual leave at the moment. I realised it as soon as I saw your review on tripadvisor, our apology for the delay.

We are going through some changes in the front of the house and Kitchen and assure you that the menu won't be the same as it is now. We had to take a temporary measurement to act upon the present situation as we had to keep the restaurant going on. We have plans for a reduced set menu and an a-la-carte to give more choices to the guest. The new head chef will be putting his signature dishes on the menu to make it more Fine Dine quality. I completely agree with you on the dessert part and as I have mentioned, it is going to be different within few weeks.

I assure you once we are ready with the new menu and wine list, you will find Coast has more to offer. I wish to welcome you back at Coast and Hythe Imperial again in near future. Please contact me at h6862-sb2@accor.com if I may be of any other assistance for the time being.

Your sincerely,

Kaushik Guha Majumder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DICKH81
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
668 reviews
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,263 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: £61 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing