We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel during a short stay in Kent.

The hotel is very nice with renovated lobby, bar and restaurant.
Rooms are quiet old and need to be refurbished but may be charming if you like to live the atmosphere of the beginning of the 20th century.

Staff were polite and efficient. Thanks to Ms. Kat who performed our check-out. She was very attentive and courteous.

Breakfast was amazing (a true English breakfast).

We will definitely go back there when staying in Kent.

Room Tip: Ask a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeffersonMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked a suite and asked for a sea view but got a garden view, with a spotlight shining into the windows all night. They have blackout blinds in the room below (to which I moved on night 3) and should put them in room 316 also. Staff were at pains to remedy most problems and I wasn't surprised by the dingy decor because of all the reviews I read beforehand, but I went for a relaxing stay and got it. The spa staff are very good and the spa experience is lovely, so are the pool and gym. I ate in the Coast restaurant every night and thought the food and wine excellent and the wine reasonably priced. I was so busy eating, drinking, having spa treatments and exploring the area that I didn't get round to trying the double jacuzzi in my suite. Perhaps it's more of a couples thing anyway. There is only one chain shop (Costa) in Hythe, which was refreshing. All the others are independent.

Room Tip: In the end I didn't mind not having a sea view because the view of the gardens isn't bad. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArchangelH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay, and glad to be home... Stayed for my Husbands Birthday but was very disappointed with the condition of the hotel rooms. After getting into our 1ST ROOM, on the 4th floor, we were in the room for less than 3 mins, the smell and condition of the bathroom was unacceptable, I couldnt stay in the room any longer. I was then given a FREE upgrade to a SEA VIEW room..... Well you could touch the scaffolding out of the window and once again the stained toilet and smelly bathroom was unacceptable, We didnt stay there so in less then 10 minuets I had gone from 4th floor to 2nd floor and was fed up walking around the hotel...... we was then offered a Suite on 3rd floor, which had fantastic views, but once again the housekeeping of the room was below par for a 4* hotel, the bathroom didnt smell but the widows were scummy and the sink was blocked, the best bit was the view to the sea. But by now I could not be bother to move again, we did consider going home.....
Breakfast was nice, but service was slow.......I was planning on using the Spa Facilites as today is my Husbands birthday, but all we wanted to do was to get home. The room was tired, carpets dirty and furnishing worn so why would we have wanted to stay there for one more minuet than we had too.......

VERY DISAPPOINTED AND WILL NOT RETURN......the only thing I cant complain about was the helpfulness of the lady on reception, but I would have like to have seen a manager to discuss my issues but this was never offered .....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had stayed here some years ago when the hotel was under the previous owners and it was a delight. We stayed just one night and really felt things had gone backwards a little. We were upgraded to a suite, which was a good start. This was actually just a very large room with a canopy bed. It had a nice sea view and the bathroom had been updated and was very good. The furnishings in the room were really a bit tired and we presume the new owners are doing a complete overhaul. There is quite a lot of building work going an but we were not bothered by noise.

The main issue was a lack of staff. The hotel was very busy and they simply did not have enough staff on duty to provide a proper service. We couldn't get a drink before dinner as the one person serving in the bar could not handle the volume of business. There was a large party at dinner which meant we had to wait to be be seated. The service in the restaurant did not come up to the levels expected in an establishment like this. The staff tried hard and were pleasant, but again there were not enough on duty. The food was actually very good and if you are not in a rush its a good place for dinner. Service at breakfast was even more stretched and the buffet often ran out of one or more items.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Pros: Beautiful location, extremely helpful front desk staff, nice breakfast, good seating area and workspace in the room, free WiFi for all devices.

Cons: VERY humid in the room (4th floor), very bad water pressure in the shower, uncomfortable pillows, dated decor.

Summary - might be a nice hotel for a weekend getaway, but for business purposes, it was not ideal. The people there were great and the coastline is beautiful, but it is not good to have a bad night's sleep before a full day of business meetings.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Mercure Hythe Imperial regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed to know that your stay was not completely satisfactory due to the condition of the room.

We are going through refurbishment and all your concerns you have raised will be looked at and assure you that you will find this hotel has more to offer after the refurbishment is over.

I wish to welcome you back to Hythe Imperial in near future.

Your sincerely,

Kaushik Guha Majumder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Overnight before taking the ferry back to Calais. We booked online and got an excellent deal and perhaps because my husband uses Accor for business had an upgrade to a suite. OK on the third floor, so not done up (312) but big with huge windows overlooking the sea. We had to prop the window open with a coathanger as a warm night...and why do hôtels give you heavy duvets in mid summer? Bring back old fashioned blankets ! Agree with a lot of previous comments, the room decor was shabby but all fonctional, even a hairdryer with a plug by the dressing table. Had a great salad in the bar, service very professional and pleasant as were both receptionists. Gorgeous pool for a dip before breakfast, best English I've had in ages. Look forward to coming back to stay to see the results of the refurbishment!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to know that your stay was satisfactory and would love to come back again.

I will look forward to welcome you back to Mercure Hythe Imperial during your next visit to South coast.

Your sincerely,

Kaushik Guha Majumder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at The Hythe Imperial and also experienced the lovely spa facilities, the spa is very relaxing and perfect for unwinding! The staff really made all the difference to our stay as they were extremely helpful from the word go, they managed to accomodate our spa reservation very last minute after our plans changed unexpectedly and despite having another Hen Party in on the same day! Fantastic value for money considering what you would pay for other local spas! Modernly decorated and space to relax inside and outside. The treatments were also lovely! Really happy with everything. The only down side ( which was very small and didn't change our views on this lovely hotel) were the rooms on the top floor were slightly dated, the hotel seems to have had some refurbishment but it appeared to have stoped two floors up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaushik G, Operations Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Hythe Imperial. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Kaushik Guha Majumder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
63 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
693 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
4.2 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: £53 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing