We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fern Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hythe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Fern Lodge worked very well for the three of us; my husband and I sharing a double room and my brother in a single, for two nights. It was quite clean and comfortable and a good value. However, I would have to say the proprietors, Francis and Peter, are what made it special. Not to mention, their wonderful breakfasts! They were very personable, friendly, and interesting. We didn't spend a lot of time at the Lodge as we were visiting friends and exploring the area but it was a great base for us, safe and friendly. We would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OcieBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here for a friend's wedding which was taking place in nearby Saltmarsh and have to say I was happy to have chosen this great B&B. Very friendly, helpful owners! Room was very clean. Lovely breakfast too! Will definitely stay here again if I am in the area. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoltyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night as we were visiting Port Lympne the following day. The owners are very friendly and helpful, carrying my wife's bag in, offering recommendations for dinner and arranging a time for breakfast.
The room was a good size, nicely decorated and we'll appointed with a good sized en-suite bathroom. The room was nice and quiet ensuring a good night's sleep.
The breakfast the next day was freshly prepared, arrived promptly and was very tasty, clearly using quality ingredients.
We would definitely stay again when in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We were here for a weekend with our 3 month old baby. As all rooms have been refurbished, we had a nice room with new en-suite.
Staff if very friendly with good tips for outings. Full English breakfast included. We booked for our next visit already! Would recommend!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Wllmkstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our 3m old for a weekend in hythe. This house is a very friendly place for a weekend in Kent, as well as for a stop over to the continent.
Rooms are just refurbished (Q1 2014) and all offer now a new en-suite bathroom. Breakfast is full English, freshly made. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, they had some good tips for outings. We already booked for the next trip! Definitely recommended.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Willem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

First impressions of fern lodge were that of being a little outdated. However if you look beyond that you will find a very cosy, friendly, well run establishment. Peter the owner is currently renovating the guesthouse to a high standard, he is a total legend with a wicked sense of humour and has a wealth of local knowledge. His breakfasts are superb.
The guesthouse is ideally located for the historic town of Hythe, the south kent coast including Dover, its port and famous castle, along with easy access to east sussex.
The local Thai restaurant Thailand Tom is excellent and fish and chip shop also in Hythe is a must for a retro experience. We will be definitely returning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sagoldie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed in the fern lodge B & B after a long journey and had a very warm welcome even on a late booking at 8 pm. Peter and Frances were great hosts and put us in a beautiful room that had just been refurbished. It has tea and coffee making facilities as well as biscuits :-) and flat screen tv. In the morning we had a full English breakfast cooked to order with tea and toast. What a fantastic find. We can highly recommend the place and will definately be staying there again. Peter and Frances also have a fabulous chateau in the Loire valley called Chateau de Mont Felix. Which I think will be as inviting.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Crippydippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hythe hotels
0.1 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,909 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Beach Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Malt Lodge
Malt Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hythe
25 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hythe
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lodge

Address: 87 Seabrook Road, Hythe CT21 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range: £83 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Lodge Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing