We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stade Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stade Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic but OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked the family room which actually turned out to be in the attic which was fab as the twin bedroom was up above the main room which contained the double bed, tv etc. The kids found it a great adventure (and I got a room to myself). Yes it was basic and in dire need of redecoration but the rooms were clean, the situation of the hotel was just beautiful and it was so nice to wake up to hear the waves crashing onto the beach. We didn't have the evening meal at the hotel but the breakfast was really good. Will go again

Room Tip: Ask for a family room - it's a bit of a trek up all the stairs (I don't like lifts) but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear JenyLyr,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience of your stay at our hotel and for your kind feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel and will gladly share your positive feedback about our breakfast buffet and the friendliness of our staff.

Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    229
    161
    60
    41
See reviews for
106
333
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kimbolton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

A rather tired hotel but ok for a night's stay. The bedroom which was all we really needed was clean, well appointed and comfortable. The staff were friendly and the price very good value. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the turnoff for the Eurotunnel entrance on the M20 so very convenient. There is a small car park available. Opposite the hotel is an excellent restaurant called The Hythe Bar. Delicious good vale food with excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you very much for this positive review.

We are happy that you are pleased with our friendly & helpfull staff . Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.

Every praise motivates us to constantly give our best to make every guest feel comfortable with us. The goal of our staff is to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible

Thank you for the words of appreciation and hope you again on your next visit to BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel to welcome us. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Sandeep Chawla
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booked 4 rooms in advance for an overnight stay after working in area. 3 remaining singles and 1 double. My colleagues said 1 of the singles was great but the other two were very small, however they were happy to spend a single night there but said if they were staying longer they would have paid a little extra for a double to get a little more space. My double was pleasent also but on the whole the hotel does look a little tired, however i will definately book again as its perfect for our needs. All our rooms were warm and comfortable and the breakfast great for us to fill up on, ready for a days work out in the cold.

Room Tip: Get in to breakfast early for hot food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaynTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear 'JaynTee '

Thank you very much for your invested time and your kind feedback.

We are happy to hear that you remarked the perfect location around our hotel and that you are pleased with our friendly and helpful staff.

The Stade Court Hotel was built 80 years ago and owns the charm of an old lady. Therefore some of the single rooms are small and is just as old as the house. Our highest aim is to make our guest feel comfortable and home.Thank you for your appreciation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Stade Court Hotel and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Yours sincerely
Sandeep Chawla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I don't really like writing negative reviews but I have struggled to think of any positive about our 1 night stay. The only thing I could say would be that I imagine it to be a lovely view in the summer as it looks straight out on to the sea front.

Travelling as a family of 6 we had a family room and a twin room booked. I specified on the booking form that we would like two rooms next door or opposite to each other if possible however I can only assume this wasn't possible as this didn't happen.

The rooms smelt stale, as though they hadn't been opened or used by anyone for months. And I mean a knock you backwards when you opened the door type of smell.

Both rooms were set over two levels with the bathroom up a very narrow stairway and the additional beds upstairs. Our two youngest children stayed in the same room as myself and my partner and I was very concerned as the stairs lead into the bedroom and if they had needed the toilet through the night they would have to go down a couple of stairs, then back up a couple of of stairs to get to the bathroom. I was worried they would go tumbling down the stairs in the night. We left the bathroom light on all night to try and prevent any accidents, but this meant the bathroom fan was on all night and was quite noisy.

The beds were dreadful, they smelt and they were ridiculously soft. You sunk into them when you laid down on them, both my partner and I ached everywhere when we woke the following morning and we had both had a restless night.

The breakfast was mediocre, I poured milk in my coffee which was off and meant I didn't have a coffee at the start of my day! The kids managed to find something and my partner and I had enough to eat also. I wish I hadn't prepaid for the breakfast and just grabbed something on our journey to the Channel Tunnel.

On departing we were asked if we enjoyed our stay, my partner said it was the worst nights sleep he'd had and they lady on reception just did a nervous laugh. No questions to try and find out why, or offer of apology, And that was that, we were on our way.

Disappointed, but its no major concern, there are plenty of other hotels in the area we can try next time and just make sure we don't go back to Stade Court again.

Room Tip: Take an air freshener, and if you have young children in a family room - take a stair gate for peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joleeds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear ' Joleeds79 '

We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

It really is so frustrating when guests stays for a night, when asked at check out if everything is ok and answer in the affirmative and then go and leave not so positive feedback. Hospitality isn’t only a word, it’s very important for us, we always stress on check in and mention it in our bedroom compendium that if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable then please do let us know.

We are always willing to find the perfect room for every single guest, regarding the split level rooms, we do get lot of good comments especially for those rooms, but its a shame that you were not happy with those rooms. We appologize for your bother.

We know that a successful start into the day is often supported by a sufficient breakfast. Therefore we do our best to serve our guests a rich and diverse breakfast together with the will to keep up the high quality of our food. It’s a shame that you were not happy at all. Would you like to reveal which hot food you missed on our breakfast buffet? We are looking forward to your feedback as we try to improve steadily.

Should you ever be in the area again please do let us have an opportunity of restoring your faith in Stade Court Hotel.

Sincerely Yours
Sandeep Chawla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hythe hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tring, Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Clean rooms, good breakfast and bar food, friendly, helpful staff, and doggy friendly. We have stayed at several Best Western Hotels abd been pleased with all of them. This time we went with son, daughter in law, their three year old and three month old sons and our dog, and all went well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Mr Malcom,

Thank you very much for this very positive and laudatory review.
It's nice to read that you promised our house. Extremely pleasant it is to hear that you the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff has remained in good memory. Every praise motivates us to constantly give our best to make every guest feel comfortable with us. The goal of our staff is to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. Your praise for cleanliness and room facilities, and are pleased to hear that we could give you a nice start to the day and that you promised the quality of food at the breakfast buffet. Thank you for the words of appreciation and hope you again on your next visit to Stade Court Hotel to welcome us.

Yours sincerely
Sandeep Chawla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very good rate for Xmas period. The staff very friendly and helpful. We had a spacious room on 4th floor with second floor bathroom and sea view. The food was excellent and doggy came too :-). Will definitely stay again when looking for an overnight stay in the area.

Room Tip: Very good rate for xmas period. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent food and spacious room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Ms Susanne

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.
We are also happy that you appreciate the food offers and the spacious room with a fantastic sea view.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Stade Court and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Sincerely Yours
Sandeep Chawla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

What a pleasant surprise, this is the first time I’ve stayed in this hotel. It’s a little tired, but it is good value, clean and warm, with very helpful and pleasant staff.
It really does punch above its weight in the catering department. The evening meal was part of a Christmas party deal – in all they were catering for 27 revellers, not to mention the general guests, the meal was top notch. This was followed by an excellent English breakfast taken in the restaurant overlooking the English Channel.
I considered it to be a very good deal

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calmfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear 'Calmfromkent '

Thank you very much for this very positive review.

We are happy that you are pleased with our friendly & helpfull staff . Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. We are pleased to hear that we could give you a nice start to the day and that you promised the quality of food at the breakfast buffet

Every praise motivates us to constantly give our best to make every guest feel comfortable with us. The goal of our staff is to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible

Thank you for the words of appreciation and hope you again on your next visit to BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel to welcome us.

Sincerely Yours
Sandeep Chawla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.5 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.8 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stade Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stade Court Hotel

Property: Stade Court Hotel
Address: Stade Street | West Parade, Hythe CT21 6DT, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stade Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly on the seafront of the picturesque Cinque Port of Hythe. We have been welcoming guests since 1939. All bedrooms are en-suite and are individually furnished and most offer glorious views of the English Channel. We cater for the most discerning of guests and pride ourselves on our reputation for excellent hospitality. Charges for Pets may apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stade Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hythe
Hythe Best Western
Stade Court Hotel Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing