We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position”
Review of Stade Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stade Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is looking a little tired, it's not dirty just shabby. However our weekend stay was a great success despite very noisy people next door. Our room overlooked the beach and had very large windows to take advantage of this fab view. We had a deal which included b&b for two nights plus dinner on one night. I doubt if we could have found better value anywhere, the breakfasts were super, very wide choice including the full English. Our dinner choice turned out to be extremely varied and the lamb shanks we chose were mouthwatering.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in at any hotel recently and the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We shall return.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank holidaygoer270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the feedback,we assure we will look into your concern and keeping our property clean will and always be our top most priority.Thank you for the kind words about our food and our friendly staff we always look forward to make our guests feel comfortable.
Hope to see ypu back again.
Regards
Sandeep Chawla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

having booked this hotel to celebrate my sisters birthday, we could not have been more disappointed.
On arrival we were told that the room would not be ready until two pm but in fact we had to wait until two forty five no big deal. we had requested a twin room TWICE on booking when we got to our room it was a double which we managed to get changed being given a room on the third floor with twin beds but the ungodly smell in the room we bought an air freshener!! the meal was included in the price for the first night it was awful instant mash potato the best of the meal was the cheese board when we returned from a full day out around 5pm our room was just being cleaned at breakfast the next day the scrambled eggs were a green black colour?? I have never seen before the final days breakfast was better but that might be that there were more people in the hotel
my advice is do not go to this hotel if I could give zero I would
We have left a letter for the manager and will await a reply

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank VALSmith1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Will start with the good points, price, excellent breakfast, hotel on seafront, that's it.
First impression on entering the hotel was that the carpet was in need of a good clean. Our bedroom was on two levels with the top floor having two single beds suitable for children. The mattresses were very poor quality and the standard of the housekeeping was very poor. There was a plaster on the floor under the one bed when we arrived and was still there when we left.
The flush on the toilet did not work properly. The bar area is very small with a TV that was never on and the staff that are on reception have to work the bar as well. The staff do not appear to enjoy their job and there was no customer service from them at all.The hotel is in need of a total refurbishment, really shabby and not what you would expect from a Best Western Hotel. Having stayed in numerous Best Westerns around the country this is by far the worst. Yes, we did read the previous reviews and went with an open mind but found that it was far worse that we imagined.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

It really is so frustrating when guests stay four nights, when asked at check out if everything is ok and answer in the affirmative and then go and leave not so positive feedback.

We always stress on check in and mention it in our bedroom compendium that if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable then please do let us know.

We appreciate that our standard rooms are somewhat dated and am somewhat surprised at your comment regarding shabbiness because even thought the hotel is slightly outdated in terms of décor it is certainly very clean and for which we get praised a lot.

I really am shocked that you stayed four nights without making the management team or myself aware of your dissatisfaction in order that we can make amends and correct matters for you whilst still in the hotel.

We would much rather have preferred resolving matters whilst you were still here.

Should you ever be in the area again please do let us have an opportunity of restoring your faith in BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel.

Sincerely

Sandeep Chawla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Aggifield
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We managed to get a room in this hotel for 1 night as our original hotel was overbooked.
Room was clean and tidy but very warm no airconditioning was available.
The staff were very friendly and the location was right on the sea front. Free parking in front of the hotel was very good.

Breakfast was good and there was enough to choose from.
Hotel does need a facelift as it is becoming very run down.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is airconditioning in other rooms but please ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Stephen,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed the location and found the staff at our hotel friendly.
Unfortunately we don't have any air conditioning in our rooms but are happy to provide guests with table fan.Thank you for the kind feed back on our staff and about the breakfast.
Hope to see you soon at our hotel.
Regards
Sandeep Chawla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A real mixed experience to be fair.

Easy, free on-road public parking as well as small private car park.

Efficient welcome neither polite nor impolite.

Dated room, with one of those original trouser presses. Lovely view over beach but partially lost due to condensation on failed double-glazing. Bedding clean. Wall-paper peeling in many areas - and in need of modernisation. Broken fixings on the windows and some mould presenting.

Ensuite bathroom again dated and unfortunately not well cleaned. Hairs in bath etc. and one of those shower curtains that perhaps unhygienicly sticks to you whilst showering.

Communal hallways smelt badly (of urine?) but no real smell in room.

Food was actually better than expected. Restaurant always busy with good choice for breakfast and dinner. Food was a good home-cooked standard rather than a top restaurant. Service was interesting and again was neither polite nor impolite, I'd like to say it was efficient but it wasn't - however we were in no rush on this stay so it was fine.

Although we generally enjoyed the three course meal we had to laugh. It was a bit like faulty towers. We had to ask to order drinks. Following a 45 minute wait (after ordering) they brought the main course before the starter. It was memorably the first time I had eaten tomato soup with a Chinese soup spoon. About one hour later again we got the same main course back (although slightly drier). Dessert was served almost grudgingly as we were amongst the last in the restaurant. No offer of coffee or tea etc following meal. Again restaurant dated and minor things that stuck out - like the ceiling point of the light that showed exposed wires and didn't have its cap on etc nearest to the entrance in the restaurant.

'Relaxed service' in the bar meant that you could wait in unmanned bar area whilst staff looked at you from reception - I suppose they were waiting for you to leave the bar to enquire as to whether you could order drinks rather than them take up position behind the bar. Didn't bother in the end! I felt that the hotel could have probably made another £100 or so out of us on our stay by being more attentive and making it easier to order drinks etc. I chose to spend where I felt valued as a customer.


I think there were some language and cultural difficulties with the staff who hadn't really displayed any real customer service skills as in any apology for the wait or mistake or 'enjoy your meal' etc. Again, they weren't rude - it just seemed like they had been put in a uniform and expected to get on with it without adequate training.

Check-out was efficient and we felt we had enjoyed our stay. I think I would have felt aggrieved if we had paid the standard rate but we had a special deal which was a fair price for what we received.

Would we return? Not in a hurry and we do like to try different places, but if someone booked me in I wouldn't refuse it. Made me laugh and appreciate some great aces we have stayed!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for your detailed response to your stay at our hotel. We really do value any feedback which helps us improve our facilities.
We appreciate that our old hotel is in continuous need for refurbishment. We are working on all of our rooms, especially the bathrooms, to modernize. Unfortunately this is a slow process and means at times guests are not satisfied..This is at the up most importance to us and is something we are working hard to ensure.
We are very glad you enjoyed the food but am sorry that you were not given the service you deserved. Your comments regarding staff have been taken seriously and passed on to ensure further training and reminders of our Best Western standard.
We do hope you can return at some stage to our hotel and see many improvements.
Sincerely,
Sandeep Chawla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had occasion to stay as part of a deal on 10th / 11th August.
We arrived and had booked room 107 but was given room 309 which in our opinion was probably the worst room in the hotel.
We refused this room to be given the original room 107.
This room was very acceptable and almost a very good standard (i said almost) but with one exception, we were given the most dire pillows encased in the finest cotton fabric but this was remedied after complaint with really nice ones (why not do this in the first place?)
To give praise we must compliment the staff here, especially the staff in the restaurant and Ellie on reception. The 3 course dinner on the first night was to a very good standard and breakfasts in the morning were good and we had a great sea view in the restaurant.
If you could throw money at this place with refurbishment it could be quite a jewel but what you find is staff doing their very best for their customers in conditions that are not their fault.
So find yourself a deal in a decent room at a bargain price, hope for some good weather, then enjoy yourself at the Stade Court.
Ps. Little thing at the end, it would have been nice to have been asked if we had enjoyed ourselves when we checked out. But i wont mention that (oops i did) :)

Room Tip: Room 107 was acceptable sea view (take a hoover though) and bleach for the loo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brightonseagulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep C, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Guest
I appreciate the time you took out to give us this feed back,i would like to apologise for the inconvenience you had in our hotel initially and assure you that it is just a one of case and not a regular one.I thank you for the kind words for my staff especially Ellie.Thank you for the kind words for the breakfast as well.
I inform you gladly that we are constantly working on refurbishment of our hotel.
Hope to see you soon and you can see the change for yourself.
Regards
Sandeep Chawla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.5 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,929 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sandgate Hotel
Sandgate Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
327 reviews
11.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
41 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stade Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stade Court Hotel

Address: Stade Street | West Parade, Hythe CT21 6DT, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: £44 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stade Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly on the seafront of the picturesque Cinque Port of Hythe. We have been welcoming guests since 1939. All bedrooms are en-suite and are individually furnished and most offer glorious views of the English Channel. We cater for the most discerning of guests and pride ourselves on our reputation for excellent hospitality. Charges for Pets may apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stade Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hythe
Hythe Best Western
Stade Court Hotel Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing