We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for Hythe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 10 Hythe B&B and Inns
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good location for Hythe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the Red Lion over New Years eve with our son and girlfriend. This was our second stay to visit family in the village. Location wise this is perfect for visiting all surrounding attractions and for the village itself. On arrival we were checked in to out 2 rooms; I had originally booked 2 double rooms however we ended up with 1 double and 1 twin but heyho not a big deal. The rooms were spacious with comfy beds and a large bathroom. they could probably do with some updating with the décor etc. but good for the 2 nights we stayed. Our son did say that the they had some problems with their shower in that it was quite cold but didn't want to complain. One thing that was out of the control of the hotel was the family who were staying in the rooms above ours who were so very noisy! you could hear conversations and the children running around both morning and night.
We were booked in for breakfast on both mornings; which consisted of a choice of cereals, yogurts, toast and/or a full English. New years day breakfast was not half as nice as when we previously stayed and the following day was so much better (maybe new years day hangover?). All in all, good location for a short break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamboSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    73
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
48
69
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at the Red Lion a little wary after reading the reviews here.

Yes the decor is a little tired but the bed was clean and tidy. The keys were left on the window sill but I personally don't have a problem with that. The TV is the smallest I've ever seen but I wasn't staying to watch the TV,lol. Coffee and tea making facilities were sufficient.

The only major issue I had was the shower......both myself and my husband failed to work out how you got a warm shower......so had to suffer a freezing cold one (not nice when you're trying to get dolled up to go out!)

Could benefit from double glazing -if only to keep the sound of sunday morning traffic out!

Breakfast was ok though nothing special

Did the job though and was convenient for our needs

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Yes the place could do with new decor, however the room was clean, linen crisp & towels fluffy, staff were very helpful & food was great, we will be back in the new year.
Hythe has a lovely high street

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aston80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for one night in September with friends to attend an engagement party in town to find the following:

* tired décor/fittings in rooms - in need of updating
* dirty carpet on stairs
* uninviting reception area/"cupboard"
* Room arrivals after the Pub had closed in the afternoon found their keys in envelopes by the entrance!
*Unable to get a drink in the Bar on arrival

To give a positive point... the Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napoleonEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Was given a room with a sofa bed (to accommodate children) which was covered with a throw. I have seen nicer sofa beds at the local tip! Hence the throw it was filthy and old I did not want my children to touch it but at midnight there was little I could do. Once I had asked for them, thankfully some nice clean sheets were provided. Double bed in room was fine. Room smelt like it had been smoked in.

Bathroom relatively clean (some cobwebs) there was no blind in the bathroom! Other windows overlooked it.

Breakfast was very nice cooked to order, cereal, toast, yogurts etc.

For a B&B I feel this establishment to be at the top end of the price range (£85.00) the room does not reflect this price I have stayed in some very nice hotels for only a small amount more. It did not feel like value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights,we were going to a family party and decided to stay an extra day to have a look around the area,our keys were left for us as we arrived once pub had closed,the room was really large and had 2 double beds in it,obviously a family room if needed,The bathroom was large too with a brilliant shower in it with plenty of hot water.The pub is a lovely rambling old building,and downstairs in the bar there is plenty of seating,there is another room in which we had breakfast,and another large room to the front of the pub that is used as a restaurant.Our room had a large double wardrobe plus bedside cabinets with one having an "alarm" clock,we had a large table come dressing table with tea /coffee making facilities even providing a good selection of biscuits.The furniture is not modern but its what you expect to find in a building like this. Breakfast provided fruit juices, cereals as much toast as we wanted marmalades and jam,and of course a full english breakfast,tea and coffee.The staff were all very nice especially our breakfast ladies and the one lady we met late on the Saturday night behind the bar.If we are ever that way again we will definitely book there again.We can also recommend the Sunday dinners which they serve until about 4.30.

Room Tip: the rooms in the back are quieter but ours was on the corner so we had traffic noise quite early on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose30081942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked for one night as we had an early booking on Le Shuttle. We had no trouble parking at rear but it was a Monday. Our key was in an envelope just inside the entrance, this did not bother us. The room was spacious and clean (room 6) and had a good size bathroom. Our room over looked car park but I asked for a room at rear. We had planned to eat out but it seemed Hythe closed on a Monday so we ate in at The Red Lion. The woman behind the bar was friendly and we ordered drinks and sat looking at the menu. The food was served prompt and was tasty. The portions were large.
We did not sleep too well as the refrigeration fan kept us from good sleep but some might not find this an issue. Breakfast was served early as requested and was very good. Overall we enjoyed this stop over and would return.

Room Tip: Room 6 is spacious and has a double and a single bed but be aware of the refrigeration fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvh315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.7 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.1 mi away
Malt Lodge
Malt Lodge
#7 of 10 in Hythe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Square, Hythe CT21 5AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce the recent management change. Situated in the beautiful town of Hythe, the Red Lion is a perfectly situated for all types of visitors. Close to the beach and only 30 minutes away from Canterbury. Close to Dover, why not spend a few nights before traveling to Europe. Whether its for one night, a short break or a longer holiday you can be assured of a comfortable relaxing stay with us. Each room features individual decor, en suite facilities, TV, WiFi and tea & coffee making facilities. We offer some deliciously tempting menus from lunches to evening meals and some fantastic mid-week meal promotions. Our Sunday lunches are very popular and we would recommend pre-booking your table to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Hythe
Hythe Red Lion
Red Lion Hythe
The Red Lion Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing