We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Santa special was simply wow! Amazing time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway

Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City should read New Romney, Kent not Littlestone
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Santa special was simply wow! Amazing time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

As a family of 2 adults and 2 children, we went on the train in the summer and had the best day out ever! It was so much fun. So we decided to do the Santa special this year for the first time. This has not disappointed! The staff are so truly lovely and helpful. The train ride was magic and our 2 young girls loved it. When we got to New Romney and Santa arrived, all the kids faces were magic. The festive treats were gorgeous and very welcoming on a day when it was rather fresh outside. Again the staff could not have been more helpful of lovely! Santa was brilliant, so genuine and welcoming especially to our 3 year old that was a bit nervous! The station was decorated brilliantly. A truly magic day out, hats off to all the staff and volunteers. We will definitely go again next Christmas but we will be back in the spring and the summer for another ride and wonderful day out.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    195
    23
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family day out !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

Not my usual day out but my boys wanted to give it a go and its was a lovely chilled day, the train is a lot smaller then usual but has a lot of history and well worth a visit !!!, we caught the train at its starting point which is Hythe, Kent, and took a return journey to Dungeness, it took a while but was lovely, you can get off at various points along the way,there are places to eat which are very reasonable, there is a lot to see and do, this is a really must especially with younger children !!!

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brings out the inner child”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

My uncle arranged a visit to this lovely railway - which surprisingly my husband had never ridden on even though we grew up in near by Deal. It was a cold day and apparently there was a visiting loco "Katie" that was causing a lot of men in anoraks to turn out (we spotted them in the most remote locations). It was a wonderful outing, firstly trying to see my elderly aunt and uncle get into the carriage and then the joy on our faces hearing the clickety clack and seeing the smoke billow past the windows. Four little kids in aged bodies having a whale of a time. Only problem was the door didn't shut properly on the journey to New Romney and we had an arctic blast over us all the way (Yup we all went down with colds soon after). First port of call the café as we were freezing. Much to my disappointment when we went to order our food they had run out of pasties and only had 3 steak and kidney pies left. So only thing I could have hot was a plate of chips. We had caught the 10.30 am train and waited for the men to look at the train lay-out upstairs before ordering lunch. This did put a dampener on my part but over all it was a wonderful day out and to see that all of us were having such fun made it a great memory. Listening to the toot toot as we approached a crossing and Oohs and arghs as we went in a small tunnel..............Priceless !

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A train journey full of memories. Nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016

We visited the railway for its end of season parade and it was thoroughly enjoyable although perhaps I am a little biased. We had relatives who once lived in a cottage in Dungeness and the train would pass by the front garden on a regular basis much to the sheer excitement and enjoyment of our children when they were all young. Ironically we never really travelled on the train in those days preferring instead to watch it pass by and wave to the passengers.
I can see why some reviewers might feel short changed by the lack of coastal views and the back gardens instead but to me that is part of the charm of this railway. It is not luxury comfort by any means but we got some of the carriage areas virtually to ourselves on the day and it was brilliant participating in the parallel train run on the Sunday. All attending staff were friendly, helpful and didn't stop us from getting on the train ages before it departed like some jobs worths have done at other railway galas we have been to in the past. It all seemed fairly laid back and relaxed.
I probably won't be back for many more years as the children are older now and my other half only really wanted to be there for the last weekend and take a look at the old place but we had a nice time and a break from going to work every day on a far more crowded choice of transport (the London Underground) and the weather was decent and we ate well, so all in all that is what makes a good break really.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank LondonBoomerang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr w”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Very pleased with this light railway brings a lot of fun for the whole. There is steam and diesel locomotive. Would recommend to anyone.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway also viewed

 

Been to Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing