We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another visit, another year.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway

Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City should read New Romney, Kent not Littlestone
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Another visit, another year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After taking our then 8 year old grandson on the Santa Special last year, we decided to repeat it again this year. It followed much the same format as last year. A ride down to New Romney, wait for Santa to arrive in his sleigh and then go to one of 3 areas. We were in the first group to see Santa. the other two groups were sent to either the railway museum or the cafe. After seeing Santa, he got a modelling set, we went for mulled wine, sausage roll and mince pie in the cafe. Our Grandson got an orange, sausage roll, gingerbread and juice. Then it was off to the museum then a wait outside to see Santa leave. All in all a good day out.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank beachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    195
    23
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magical! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Travelled on the Santa Special today - just magical! The staff were helpful, friendly and enthusiastic, the whole event was seamlessly organised and great fun for all generations. Couldn't have been bettered!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Caravanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Santa special was simply wow! Amazing time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

As a family of 2 adults and 2 children, we went on the train in the summer and had the best day out ever! It was so much fun. So we decided to do the Santa special this year for the first time. This has not disappointed! The staff are so truly lovely and helpful. The train ride was magic and our 2 young girls loved it. When we got to New Romney and Santa arrived, all the kids faces were magic. The festive treats were gorgeous and very welcoming on a day when it was rather fresh outside. Again the staff could not have been more helpful of lovely! Santa was brilliant, so genuine and welcoming especially to our 3 year old that was a bit nervous! The station was decorated brilliantly. A truly magic day out, hats off to all the staff and volunteers. We will definitely go again next Christmas but we will be back in the spring and the summer for another ride and wonderful day out.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family day out !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

Not my usual day out but my boys wanted to give it a go and its was a lovely chilled day, the train is a lot smaller then usual but has a lot of history and well worth a visit !!!, we caught the train at its starting point which is Hythe, Kent, and took a return journey to Dungeness, it took a while but was lovely, you can get off at various points along the way,there are places to eat which are very reasonable, there is a lot to see and do, this is a really must especially with younger children !!!

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brings out the inner child”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

My uncle arranged a visit to this lovely railway - which surprisingly my husband had never ridden on even though we grew up in near by Deal. It was a cold day and apparently there was a visiting loco "Katie" that was causing a lot of men in anoraks to turn out (we spotted them in the most remote locations). It was a wonderful outing, firstly trying to see my elderly aunt and uncle get into the carriage and then the joy on our faces hearing the clickety clack and seeing the smoke billow past the windows. Four little kids in aged bodies having a whale of a time. Only problem was the door didn't shut properly on the journey to New Romney and we had an arctic blast over us all the way (Yup we all went down with colds soon after). First port of call the café as we were freezing. Much to my disappointment when we went to order our food they had run out of pasties and only had 3 steak and kidney pies left. So only thing I could have hot was a plate of chips. We had caught the 10.30 am train and waited for the men to look at the train lay-out upstairs before ordering lunch. This did put a dampener on my part but over all it was a wonderful day out and to see that all of us were having such fun made it a great memory. Listening to the toot toot as we approached a crossing and Oohs and arghs as we went in a small tunnel..............Priceless !

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway also viewed

 

Been to Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing