We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Magical visit to Father Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway

Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City should read New Romney, Kent not Littlestone
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical visit to Father Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went as a family (4 adults and 1 three year old). Wonderful ride on the train, well organised event at the other end, with Santa arriving on a steam train for all the kids to see, and then groups split up to avoid congestion with refreshments (mulled wine, sausage roll and mince pie per person) all included in the price. Museum was worth a browse around and then a lovely visit to Santa. Opportunity to buy a photo of the event, but no hard sell at all. In fact the whole thing was so un-commercialised it was wonderful. Fake snow was blasted off the roof of the cafe/museum which our 3 yr old was so excited by. All in all the whole family loved it, not just our daughter. I would highly recommend it.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank dicey1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    195
    23
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Santa special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went on the Santa special today and we all had a fantastic time. The children's faces when they saw Santa arrive on his sleigh, pulled by The Bug train was magical. This was matched by exicement when it started to 'snow'. The whole event was very well run and all staff made the event enjoyable. I have been on other Santa Specials at other railways but this was by far the best.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Like being on a miniature Hogwarts train! Definitely not a fast way of travel, but is not intended for that. Great to visit the nearby towns and sight see. Beautiful beaches too!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank smiles4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Another visit, another year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After taking our then 8 year old grandson on the Santa Special last year, we decided to repeat it again this year. It followed much the same format as last year. A ride down to New Romney, wait for Santa to arrive in his sleigh and then go to one of 3 areas. We were in the first group to see Santa. the other two groups were sent to either the railway museum or the cafe. After seeing Santa, he got a modelling set, we went for mulled wine, sausage roll and mince pie in the cafe. Our Grandson got an orange, sausage roll, gingerbread and juice. Then it was off to the museum then a wait outside to see Santa leave. All in all a good day out.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank beachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magical! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Travelled on the Santa Special today - just magical! The staff were helpful, friendly and enthusiastic, the whole event was seamlessly organised and great fun for all generations. Couldn't have been bettered!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Caravanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway also viewed

 

Been to Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing