We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value place to stay”
Review of George Hotel

George Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydd
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Being staying at the George for a month. Positives are it good value at £25 a night. I can check out at tea time after work (I don't drive). They are happy to allow cycles and keep them safe. The building requires a great deal of TLC but it is 100% spotlessly clean. The staff are extremely helpful, friendly and pleasant. The toilets and baths are shared but this as not proved an issue. If you want quite rooms then the right corridor is the side to go. The other corridor of rooms are over the bar and can be a little noisy till closing time having said that i have been in both corridors and its not proved a problem. The hotel is under new management and they are clear working hard to improve every aspect of the hotel.
The food is wholesome food and served in good portions at reasonable prices either in the bar or dinning room.
The bar is nice with locals frequenting it and regular events taking place to keep the place vibrant.
For people needing a value for money place to stay or cyclist and walkers its a good stop over.

Room Tip: If you need or want quite ask for not over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Where do I start.
Positives £30 per night
Negatives: The rooms are dated and very basic.The furniture looks like something that was very fashonable in the early 80s with white wardrobes and a mixture of stuff that has come from a house clearance. There is a sink in the room, however Shared bathrooms not a fan of these but when you look at the floor theres that much subsidance its like walking in the fun house at Blackpool. The locals rumored that room 11 in the place is haunted. How the ghost puts up with the loud banging music coming from the downstairs bar is beyond me. Staff friendly and did make an effort but the choice of food on the menu would have suited a greasy spoon not a supposedly hotel. No breakfast by the way unless you want toast. Good cafe around the corner though. Would I stay here again ??? Think you know the answer

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This lovely old Jacobean hotel ,situated in the High St of the town has a new proprietor,making some nice changes to the reasonably priced menu's.Sunday lunches are at £6.50,whilst other offerings are equally as tempting.My choice of the sirloin steak braised in a red wine sauce,was tender & tasty,served with local new potatoes from a nearby farm,complemented with veg's of the best Kentish choice.My Wife's choice of the home made Turkey & leek pie had the most delicious filling & gravy,topped with a crispy puff pastry,local veg's again complemented the meal.The main courses were SO substantial that we would not have had the starter of a creamy celery & Stilton soup served with crusty bread.!!The "Green Room" restaurant is very elegant .
The hotel rooms are very reasonably priced,although in need of some refurb'.At this time a Double room is £45.00.A single @ £25.00.A family @£60.00.A very useful hotel for holiday makers ,tourists,business (Lydd Airport nearby) .Parking is to the rear of the hotel .A garden for outside ambiance.Regular quiz nights & music throughout the week.Real ales & good wines are available .

Room Tip: Ask to see your room ,possibly the rear of the building away from the road @ the front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had to find a hotel late at night due to a family tragedy.
I came across this hotel.
The landlord could not fulfill our request for a triple room, but he let us has two rooms for the price of a triple.
The hotel is a very basic, workers hotel.
Very outdated furniture, set up of rooms, no en-suites.
This all being said the hotel is immaculate, yes immaculate.
The shared bathrooms, well I looked and looked but there was no dirt to be found.
The taps , sinks, even under the toilet seat where clean.
The cleaning people and landlord are a credit to this place.
All bedding, towels and facilities are a credit.

We stayed two nights, and had an evening meal there on one night.
This was also a credit to the hotel.
Good home cooked food, in fact the portions are too large, but as said it is more of a workers, occasional visitor type place, so the size of meals reflect this I think.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divaGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the George for one night. The staff were friendly but some seemed very new and couldn't answer basic questions: eg 'what time is check-out?'
Room was very tired decor wise and could have benefitted from a few pictures as was extremely souless. Shared bathrooms were clean but no real shower facilities. As for only having one toilet, that could ended in tears...
Bed was comfortable, we slept well but were woken by other guests early in the morning.
The garden was nice and the hotel had adequate parking facilities. Breakfast was tasty but not included with room.
May try elsewhere on my next visit to Lydd...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BimboDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Very friendly family hotel. Very clean and good breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africanbushpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

this hotel is very dated and shabby in terms of decoration. The rooms are very basic indeed in dorm style with mismatched and cheap furniture and although cheap I have stayed in far better for the same price. There was only 2 bathrooms for the whole of our coridoor (15 girls in one party this was an issue!). It was clean but the beds were uncomfy and there was a greasy cafe smell pretty much everywhere.

The food was surprisingly good. Which is a good job as there is nothing else in the immediate area!.. But I'm afraid it did not make up for the poor accomodation. I realise that the hotel is very old and didn't mind the sloping floors etc as a result but there is no reason it needs to be so tired in terms of decoration and upkeep.

The staff were friendly enough but quite disorganised and chaotic with little communication.

Sadly I couldn't reccomend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: they are all as bad as each other I'm afraid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelqueenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydd
7.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
3 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
116 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The George in Rye
7.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
830 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 11 High Street, Lydd TN29 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lydd
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydd
Price Range: £41 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — George Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 400 years old The George Hotel has 9 character rooms, a cosy open wood fire in our new restaurant, and offers good value for money on room letting, excellent Chef's home cooked food and fine beers & wine. We are also reputed to have some 12 ghosts to interest our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Lydd, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing