We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yep pretty good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yama's

Yama's
Ranked #2 of 177 Restaurants in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Thai, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Thai English Eaterie open from 10am until 2.30pm then 5pm until 10pm last orders 9.30ish Tuesday until Saturday. Breakfasts served all day, like the T.J. Special( Egg, Smoked Danish Bacon, Cumberland Sausage, Beans, Tomatoes, Hash Brown, Mushrooms and Hot Toast with real Butter!!!! All for £4.95) As is our authentic home cooked Thai food cooked by Noi our Fantastic Thai Housewife/Cook who creates absolutely fantastic food, spiced to your taste. Come and sample our mouth watering Thai curries or Noi's now famous Yummy Yama (Mango Curry) Children's meals also available at £3.50 Kids Breakfast, Real Chicken Nuggets or Fish Fingers all served with Chips and Beans or Mash and Veg plus a fruit juice, we now do any Thai meal half portion for children.We look forward to meeting you soon Sawadee Krap Keep a look out we are opening Sundays soon
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yep pretty good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Not normally anything other than English food.. thats me! Talked into it by the mrs as we struggled to find anything decent in margate. Good food cooked in front of you, cheap & good friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank Adrian_Loynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    64
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food! Say no more!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

A must visit!! Thai food was amazing! Cannot wait to return. Friendly service, fantastic price with food that sets your taste buds alive.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb food and great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We ate here twice whilst we were staying in Margate. The first night the restaurant was quiet so we were able to speak to Terry and Noi. We had an lovely meal and the dim sum was especially good. The meal overall was excellent and extremely good value. We were able to take our own wine. We were delighted to return later in the week when the restaurant was much busier. It has a lovely atmosphere and the ambience very friendly. The star dish this time was the coconut soup. So pleased to have eaten there and to meet Terry and Noi thank you to you both!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LenoreSaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really enjoyed and satisfied my chilli craving in Margate. Yama's is an authentic, cute little spot. However, for a casual eatery/ take away, the price is not a bargain and for that price, I'd would like to see slickly bigger "king prawns" in my soup (£5) and stir fry (£7,50)...General experience is pleasant...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mistyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Stupidly Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Considering this restaurant is less than a quarter of a mile from our home it has taken my wife and I 3 years to actually eat here. A small no frills place to eat, just as many good local places are, serving Thai and English cuisine. Food is prepared within feet of where you sit and has to rate as some of the tastiest food I have ever eaten which seems a bit mad really for all the places we have visited and that it is right on our doorstep.

There is no on premises license so bring your own wine etc, an added bonus to be honest as most places rip the proverbial out of you for drinks. this visit was with friends so there was six of us and the bill came to £70 !!!!!!!!!!

The staff are amazing and Terry, who is front of house, is mad as a box of frogs but hugely likeable. Top marks for this simple place. They also do takeaway. For bookings on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday book a minimum of 7 days in advance as it is always packed to the rafters as it only seats 22.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yama's also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Yama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing