We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfeast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westbrook Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 12 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good breakfeast”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed and it was very quiet and and food was good the hotel is dated as others have said
But the owners are nice people helpfull and its near the sea front and shops are in walking distance.if any contractors are looking for a hotel which has good food comfortable beds and quiet and don't cost the earth then stay I would recommend this house.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    29
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
19
29
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arrived at Westbrook Lodge on an early evening train from London for an Easter Weekend break with my son.Having explained that he has Autism on my booking ,we arrived to find the owners had put a giant teddy bear in the armchair inside our room to make him feel 'at home'.The man greeted us warmly,showed us up to our room carrying our bags too!The rooms are beautifully furnished in rich Burgundy shades for linens and curtains with a lovely print on the wall.Very warm ambience.Good lighting,excellent amount of storage space with wardrobes,dresser,chest of drawers on one side of the large room.Then another shelving unit with drawers,an under shelf and a table top housed a tray full of tea bags,coffee and sugars all in individual Tupperware pots with a choice of mugs or cup and saucer depending on your preference.There was a good sink with cupboards and shelving beneath and a lovely large mirror over this. The tv was a very clear flat screen and raised nice and high so safe for both my son and my Schi-Tzu as nowhere near them.Excellent coverage and signal with an enormous choice of channels.We also had good bedside tables and individual reading lights. As the rooms are not en suite ,we were very pleased to find the toilets were just out in the corridor and a lovely warm shower there too.If this is busy there are two others just around the corner. All are spotlessly clean as is the hotel itself and so are the rooms.Breakfast here was an absolute delight-they cook completely fresh to order so on a busy day you may wait a few minutes but they will cook exactly what you want from the usual selection of Hot breakfast and then you can order toast,pots of tea or coffee orange juice is freely available and cereals are decanted in a self serve area.We also ordered an evening meal one night and this was cooked to perfection with generous portion sizes,fresh cooked food and exactly our choice of accompaniments. the owners and staff really can't do enough for you.Nothing is too much trouble.The location is perfect,a minutes walk and you hit the North part of the beach,the other direction takes you to the main Canterbury road and this has a Tesco Express for all your essentials and a number of takeaways,Chinese, Indian,Pizza,Kebab and some others plus several newsagents and convenience stores.The rail station is about5-8 minutes away and one straight road before the turning off.There are frequent buses to the town centre,which continue onwards to Broadstairs which is lovely for a day trip and very cheap fares.The bus stops just opposite the hotel round the corner.The trajns run frequently from London to eitherSt.Pancras or Victoria 1.15hrs or 1.30 hours respectively and Whitstable was another day trip destination for us with a half hour train ride.The beauty of the whole trip for us was that the hotel is dog friendly so our little Schi-Tzu was able to come along and enjoy the weekend with us.The hotel are so kind about dogs and really welcoming and there is a lovely place on Margate beach to sit and eat where dogs can eat with you on the bench tables outside.I can't recommend this place highly enough if you are looking for friendly,welcoming,warm and cosy accommodation by the seaside where you can take both your offspring and your furry friends along and feel at home.The value is outstanding and even the evening meal with full pitchers of soft drinks from the non alcoholic bar at the hotel only totalled£10 ,and when I commented to the host that this was good value he said'Well you know,we try to keep it decent',and that's what strikes you about this place,it is thoroughly decent in every way;perfect for a weekend out the Metropolis or a seaside holiday with friends and family.A very good experience for us all!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Confondu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We've now stayed at the Westbrook Lodge twice in the past couple of months. The staff and owner are very friendly, and our room and all amenities (shared bathroom and toilet) were very clean and warm The breakfast was great, and it was so nice to be asked what we wanted:-)
The hotel is located in a lovely quiet area of town with great access to the beach and central Margate within minutes! There's ample safe parking both off road and on road, which is a great plus:-)

Whenever we revisit Margate, we will always stay at this hotel as it provides good value for money with lovely basic unfussy facilities. The owner is always flexible and has waited for us to arrive in the late hours with a friendly smile, welcome, and a pot of hot coffee - you really couldn't ask for more:-):-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NattynDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I have stayed here on my own on 8 separate occasions in the last year, the most recent being 19 December 2012. I return because it's lovely & warm in winter, a convenient location, being close to the beach and I can walk to it from the railway station. To get to the centre of Margate, I walk along the promenade or catch a bus from just outside the B&B. I have no issues with the rooms not being ensuite, as they have a washbasin, plenty of hot water & there is more than 1 shower room and toilets available. Yes, the decoration & bed linen is a mix of patterns, vintage & quirky, but it doesn't bother me, as it is all clean. I just want a good night's sleep, which I get. I watched the Olympics opening ceremony on the TV in the summer without problems, once I'd found the channel. The choice of tea, coffee, cereal, cooked breakfast & toast, butter & jam is more than adequate for someone like me who usually just has toast & coffee. Any issues, like more milk, are quickly dealt with by the helpful staff - you just have to ask. This is the best value B & B I have found in the Margate area, with winter rates which are unbeatable. If you want a posher place, then you'll have to pay a lot more than these rates.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night on my own while in the area and I would recommend staying here if you are on a budget.
it is in a decent location close to the beach and a 10 minute walk to the centre of margate the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were small but adequate.
breakfast was a full English with lots of toast and plenty of tea or coffee.
overall if you remember this is a very cheap place to stay then it is good value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank psyconet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We only arrived at 23:15 in the evening, but we called in advance and the manager was as kind to keep up until we arrived.

The hotel is indeed very characteristic (some might call it outdated), but that does not mean that things would be broken or not hygienic. We had a very good night of sleep in a good bed in a tidy room and could appreciate the aberrant taste of the owners. Everything works very good, if you watch the pictures, this is what you get. All is very hygienic, staff is extremely friendly and the breakfast is according to what I would expect from an English Breakfast. On top of that, it is located less than 100m away from the sea.

conclusion: good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I like to stay in hotels with a bit of character and booked this hotel for that reason. I generally read reviews on Trip Advisor before booking but we had to attend a funeral at short notice and were a bit hasty when booking this hotel. I should have suspected it was not up to standard when looking for directions on Google Street View and the Hotel has deliberately been obscured (normally at the request of the owner). You would have thought that they would welcome its presence as a bit of advertising! What are they trying to hide?

We arrived at ten o'clock and were met by a very pleasant and helpful gentleman who booked us in and showed us to our room. The 'bar' closes at ten so I asked if we could have a drink before it closed, only to be told that they only serve water, coke and red bull. Little point in advertising the bar in their gallery on their website if that is all on offer!

The room was very dated with 70's style decor and furniture. The bed linen was of the same ilk but at least it was clean although the towels smelled a bit musty. These were a mish-mash of different colours and sizes and showing their age. The bed was quite hard but a good nights sleep was had by all of us. There was a kettle for tea/coffee but no milk. The TV didn't work either - intermittent signal through an ancient DVB box.

In the morning we had to wait our turn for the shower room which is really annoying when there is three people waiting to get ready. Modern standards require an en-suite which could be possible in this hotel if they were prepared to invest some money.

Breakfast was adequate but with low quality ingredients in the full English. All jams and condiments were in sachets including the UHT milk for the coffee and tea. The chap serving was pleasant and helpful but not very attentive and seemed too interested in talking to the 'regulars'.

To summarise we were disappointed with this hotel and it was certainly not value for money. The staff were friendly enough but this didn't make up for the poor facilities and shared shower rooms. I would not recommend it to anyone unless the price was more realistic to it's limited attraction.

Room Tip: OK if you don't mind sharing a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.9 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
516 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
22 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbrook Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbrook Lodge Guest House

Property: Westbrook Lodge Guest House
Address: Guest House 9 Westcliff Gardens, Margate CT9 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westbrook Lodge Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westbrook Lodge is a beautiful guest house, having accommodation for 28 guests. Our bedrooms are well-furnished and complete with tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and towels. We have a first class dinning room (with food to match!), a cosy, well-stocked nonalcoholic bar with surprisingly reasonable prices, a small library and free WI-FI internet. Hot snacks and drinks can be provided in the late evening if required and also a very tasty breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbrook Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbrook Lodge Guest House Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing