We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great seaside B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great seaside B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Enjoyed a really pleasant stay here a few days ago. Steve and Hannah are really friendly,genuine and warm people. Staying here feels like staying with close friends rather than in a guest house. I had a really nice room and it was a tonic to see the sea every morning. The breakfasts were really nice ,plentiful and piping hot. Hannah and Steve go the extra mile and are always happy to give advice on the local area. Although Margate is slightly run down you can see that a big effort is being made to spruce the town up to it's former glory. Steve and Hannah, again thanks for a wonderful break, my little holiday was an unknown blessing in disguise and something I was in dire need of. You should both be rightly proud of what you've achieved a proper home from home B&B

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinshrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, General Manager at The Bay Guest House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to send comments to Trip Advisor from your recent stay at the Bay. We really appreciate this and were so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you are able to return soon. Just to let you know we are working on providing a Kent "themed" breakfast starting in Novemeber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    30
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
46
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed a weekend here at The Bay Margate. This is a really comfortable and clean hotel. The owners Steve and Hannah are friendly and go out of their way to make all guests welcome. The rooms are really cosy,warm and comfortable. I had a spectacular sea view. Breakfasts were really nice as well. The Bay is in a ideal location near to the shops,beach and station. I would happily recommend The Bay Margate. I will definitely book for next year. Thanks Steve and Hannah.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, General Manager at The Bay Guest House, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Firstly thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for your positive comments about the Bay we are really pleased you had a nice stay. This is important to us. We very much look forward to seeing you again. There are lots of new events and attractions planned for Margate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lovely place, the owners were really nice. We wanted to come to Margate for our wedding anniversary - we ate at the Sands Hotel and then finished at the casino so we just wanted somewhere good value and nearby to stay. We found this place and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was clean and spacious, the views out to see were a real bonus. We had an en-suite too, which was a good size. The bed was comfy and breakfast was delicious. We really couldn't have asked for more. This is directly opposite the Winter Gardens, which made me think that it would be a great idea to stay here if there was an event I wanted to go to. Parking is at a premium as this is on the main road. There are no parking restrictions on the road and there are plenty of side roads to park in, so once parked, there is no worry about moving. This is no criticism, just be aware that you may not be able to park directly outside. The owners told us that they would try and save a space for us, which I assume may not always be possible. We will definitely stay here again if we need to stay in Margate overnight - it's quite local to us and with such a lovely beach and the regeneration of the Old Town and hopefully the Dreamland theme park being rebuilt, I'm certain we will.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, General Manager at The Bay Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you very much for staying at the Bay and also for taking time to review and leaving positive comments about the Bay and Margate. We really appreciate this and will be using comments to learn and improve our business. I am so pleased you had a good time in Margate. The issue of parking is a problem because we are directly opposite the Winter Gardens and when they have a star performer there, parking can be a problem. However, we are looking at developing some car parking spaces at the rear of our property. My target date for this is by October so I hope this will help us. Again thank you very much for leaving comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent value B&B. Very near beach & town. Lovely sea views.
Owners are very helpful. Family rooms are large. If you are looking for a clean and comfortable B&B in an excellent location then this is a great place as long as you don't expect all the extras a boutique hotel or B&B would provide.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Manager at The Bay Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review and leaving positive comments about the Bay. We really appreciate this and will be using comments to learn and improve our business.
We are pleased that Margate has lots to offer during August with so many events taking place. The weather during August has been great and so many people have been enjoying the beach. I hope September provides some good weather too. We will be working hard to improve the guest house for Christmas. Again thank you very much for leaving comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Saturday night at very short notice the owners were very friendly and welcoming both on the phone and in person . We had an amazing view of the seafront with an en suite included in the price . Would highly recommend this very clean tidy and well presented bed and breakfast with excellent hosts .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Manager at The Bay Guest House, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review! I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Bay has some lovely views out to sea. I can spend hours just looking out at sea. William Turner loved Margate for the sea, and the skies. Many thanks again for coming to stay with us and for writing us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed at the Bay Guest House in Margate,a couple of weeks ago,as I wanted a short break but I was on tight budget.The owners were very welcoming and friendly and the room with ensuite was very clean and tidy,with tea/coffee facilities.The hotel has a seafront position and the train station is walking distance.The full breakfast was fantastic and the owners couldn't do enough for you.Lots to do and see in Margate,so it was a ideal place to stay while sight -seeing.I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepfit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Manager at The Bay Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review and leaving comments about the Bay. We really appreciate this and will be using all comments to learn and improve our business. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found lots to do in Margate. Again thank you very much for leaving comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have been staying at the Bay Guest House for approximately 8 weeks. The room is very clean and tidy, friendly atmosphere, tea and coffee facilities very adequate. I have no complaints other than the parking arrangement on various occasions. I have had trouble parking my car. Other than that it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Manager at The Bay Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review and leaving comments about the Bay. We really appreciate this and will be using your comments to learn and improve our business. The issue of parking is a real problem because we are directly opposite the Winter Gardens and when they have a star performer there, parking can be a problem. However, we are looking at developing some parking at the rear of our property. Again thank you very much for leaving comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.0 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Guest House

Property: The Bay Guest House
Address: 23 Fort Crescent | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — The Bay Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay guest house is in a beautiful seafront position opposite the Winter Gardens in Cliftonville, Margate and enjoys picturesque views. We are located close to central Margate for conveinience and just a few minutes walk to beaches, ammusements, restaurants, shops and a number of other attractions. Shell Grotto, Tudor House, Droit House and the new Turner Centre. 15 miles from historic Canterbury and its cathedral, and Broadstairs with its Dickens heritage, Ramsgate with its yacht marina the Bay Guest House is in an ideal position. We provide Bed & Breakfast in clean & comfortable, well decorated rooms, four of which are en-suite. It is our wish to make your stay in Margate a comforable, happy and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Guest House Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing