We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of The Burlington

The Burlington
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Burlington
Ranked #8 of 11 Margate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Turned up at the burlington rather desperate after the place we originally booked was appalling. Richard was very accommodating & didn't even want cash up front. Nice clean and well serviced room. Many thanks

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Adrian_Loynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is our third stay at the Burlington Hotel and we love it.Their rooms are lovely and clean the owners are lovely people who make you fell welcome.Right opposite the beach what more could you want a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

me and my wife came to margate for a week holiday and stayed here found it very welcoming and friendly would recomened this hotel to anyone going to margate for a holiday i will defently book again for our next break thank you for a lovely stay richard and pauline

Room Tip: dont matter what room all rooms are high quialty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A must place to stay in Margate,friendly super clean top location opposite beach and at the start of the shopping street. Richard the owner is very helpful with a lot of good suggestions of what to see and do in the area. Out of 10 20.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Well its coming up to that time again to book our family holiday, we will of course be staying at The Burlington!
The hotel is comfortable and very clean, the owners are wonderful, helpful and always there if you need anything.
We wouldnt want to stay anywhere else.
Richard and Pauline are the best!
See you in the summer.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

While I was working on a construction project in Margate, I, and many work colleagues, stayed at the Burlington on and off for many weeks between January and July of this year. I found the hotel to be of a very good standard of comfort and very reasonably priced.
During my frequent stays, I got to know Richard the owner quite well and will know he will be gutted by reviews like the one from Roxana as he is putting in a lot of effort and money fully refurbishing rooms to a high standard.
I stayed in quite a few different rooms during my time there, before and after refurbishment, and all of them were always very presentable, clean and warm, beds very comfortable. There aren't many places that will supply you with a fridge and microwave in your room either like they do at the Burlington.
I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in this area and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brico59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Worn, outdated, unkempt. Suggested by an associate who, what's the proper term, is frugal. Cheap in plain US English. I should have known better.I saw some lovely old B&B's that would have suited me much better. I may visit Margate again but never at this shoddy excuse for a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bay Guest House
The Bay Guest House
#3 of 11 in Margate
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Warwick Guest House
The Warwick Guest House
#1 of 11 in Margate
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington

Address: 8 Buenos Ayres, Margate CT9 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Burlington Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing