We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”
Review of Glenwood Hotel

Glenwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After looking at Trip Advisor I thought I would give this a go as I was working in Margate. The gentleman on reception when I arrived was very helpful as regards places to eat and my room was clean warm and comfortable.
A bit later in the evening whilst I was trying to work there was a lot of noise outside my room on looking out it was children playing by the lift. I asked them to quieten down which they did.
I think the hotel could do with an update it looks very "tired".
Also on the plus side the breakfast was delicious.
Parking is on the street by the hotel

Room Tip: Room 108 is by the lift can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed there for over a month (should have been 6 months) - got threatened of physical violence by another guest (55 years old) who was stalking another younger woman (22 years old) for chatting to other guests in an assigned area by the hotel late in the morning. Nearly got police involved about that but didn't want to bring grief to hotel doors.

Had to leave the hotel as hotel owner looked at his bottom line and not his guest security.

Real disappointment as the staff are lovely, got on well with the hotel owner at the start but i guess money talks and truth suffers.

Last i check it was a hotel not a social service centre.

On the flip side the hotel rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff do go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piprees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the 4th Time ive stayed here in the last 6 months. An excellent B &B. @ £25'00 pppn (depending on season) the value is superb. Breakfast cooked to order with all the juices and cereals.etc
Moving to Margate and this is where I would recommend friends and family to stay if I cannot accommodate them. You can now pay 5x as much and be hard pressed to get the same value.
100%recommendation

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petercook100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked 2 single rooms, one was really nice and had a double bed and was a spacious, the other was drab and small, the staff were friendly and the reception was open all night!
Breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

just been to the Glenwood hotel in Margate not the best 2 star hotel i have stayed in .welcome was freindly and the breakfast was good .problems were bar was not opened at all as it said in the room resturant not opend.The room could do with decorating

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevewebb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My Title refers to Margate in General not the Hotel. I have never been before and the reason we decided to go was I wanted a cheap B&B near the sea and so Margate it was!

The Hotel is a bit frayed around the edges but I have to say I have no complaints about it at all. The staff are all very friendly, the night porter could be the spitting image of Mr Burns from The Simpsons! The Double Room I stayed in was large clean and comfy and the shower hot. Loads of choice for Breakfast including Cereal, fruit and a Fry Up.

It was quite sad really as Like Margate itself it's just struggling to survive. You can see where in it's hayday it was a thriving hotel and a thriving resort. There are a few little gems in Margate though, the Beach is Lovely, the old Town has some good pubs and independent restaurants and I totally recommend the Curry house Cinnamon for one of the best curries I have ever had!

I hope it improves in time, would be a shame to see Margate fade away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great service from staff hotel was very clean but the hotel looks tired but overall pleasant stay. Close to beach great breakfast staff was so helpfull great taxi service very big hotel free parking I would stay their again if ever I need to go back to margate I am how ever used to staying in 4. / 5 star but that weekend every were was booked up but again I was pleasantly surprised after reading negative reviews

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
788 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
0.3 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hotel

Address: 19-25 Edgar Road, Margate CT9 2EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Cliftonville
Glenwood Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing