We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”
Review of Glenwood Hotel

Glenwood Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dump”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a hell whole this place this is. Within the first 10 minutes the lift broke on us, manager said he would get it looked at. Once at our room 2nd floor we opened the door to be greeted by a stained carpet, dirty curtains which didn't fit the window, double bed with only one bedside light, with a light bulb clearly to big for the lamp,a very old fashioned tv with holes drilled into the top, a room with no smoke alarm, a bathroom with only a grubby a net curtain at the window and a toilet with a macerator, which was always noisey even when not being used. My disabled husband asked at reception for a couple of extra pillows, he was given a key and told to go to another room and get his own pillows, then take the key back to the reception. The following morning we made our way to the basement for breakfast we skipped the cereal as it looked like it had been in the building as long as it had been standing. We was waited on by an elderly lady who clearly had difficulties remembering our order, so we just took pot with what would arrive on our plates. Cheap and tasteless it was. Even the room was cold and in need of pulling down.
That evening our rooms was so cold the heating was not working, I felt unable to go down and complaint as I had regularly seen a savoury looking chap hanging round downstairs, who made me feel uncomfortable. The following morning we both felt to lifeless and unable to go down to eat the muck they called breakfast. We just packed up and left. At this point we noted the light in the lift that had been flickering since we arrived had finally blown , so that was in pitch black. Once at reception we just handing in the key. We was not even asked if we had enjoyed are stay.
We did e-mail the hotel to explain our disappointment but you guessed they never replied.

Room Tip: Place needs to be pulled down. Avoid Avoid Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrmrsflintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    29
    20
    10
    33
See reviews for
12
29
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Booked to stay here for 2 nights with my wife. Demanded a refund after just one night. Should have left when we first got there when the manager joked about me being lucky if my car is still there in the morning. The hotel smelt foul, was full of DSS eastern Europeans, exposed fuse boards in common area, bed was very uncomfortable and noisy, fire alarm didn't conform to current standards, bloke smoking cannabis on the fire exit stairwell. Couldn't tell you about the breakfast because we walked into the trashed dining area then walked straight out again. Do not stay in this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martinsanders2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margate hotels

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After looking at Trip Advisor I thought I would give this a go as I was working in Margate. The gentleman on reception when I arrived was very helpful as regards places to eat and my room was clean warm and comfortable.
A bit later in the evening whilst I was trying to work there was a lot of noise outside my room on looking out it was children playing by the lift. I asked them to quieten down which they did.
I think the hotel could do with an update it looks very "tired".
Also on the plus side the breakfast was delicious.
Parking is on the street by the hotel

Room Tip: Room 108 is by the lift can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folkestone
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed there for over a month (should have been 6 months) - got threatened of physical violence by another guest (55 years old) who was stalking another younger woman (22 years old) for chatting to other guests in an assigned area by the hotel late in the morning. Nearly got police involved about that but didn't want to bring grief to hotel doors.

Had to leave the hotel as hotel owner looked at his bottom line and not his guest security.

Real disappointment as the staff are lovely, got on well with the hotel owner at the start but i guess money talks and truth suffers.

Last i check it was a hotel not a social service centre.

On the flip side the hotel rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff do go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piprees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the 4th Time ive stayed here in the last 6 months. An excellent B &B. @ £25'00 pppn (depending on season) the value is superb. Breakfast cooked to order with all the juices and cereals.etc
Moving to Margate and this is where I would recommend friends and family to stay if I cannot accommodate them. You can now pay 5x as much and be hard pressed to get the same value.
100%recommendation

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petercook100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked 2 single rooms, one was really nice and had a double bed and was a spacious, the other was drab and small, the staff were friendly and the reception was open all night!
Breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

just been to the Glenwood hotel in Margate not the best 2 star hotel i have stayed in .welcome was freindly and the breakfast was good .problems were bar was not opened at all as it said in the room resturant not opend.The room could do with decorating

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewebb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
22 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hotel

Property: Glenwood Hotel
Address: 19-25 Edgar Road, Margate CT9 2EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Cliftonville
Glenwood Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing