We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will never stay anywhere quite like it.”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“You will never stay anywhere quite like it.”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Amazing hotel that is billed as a museum, which is spot on for all the curios you will find scattered about this place. Went for a friends wedding, and found the rooms great, the staff excellent and the restaurant superb. I understand this may not be everyone's cup of tea, I was skeptical at first but the place grew on me. In short, I would recommend this hotel as an experience, as you will never find anywhere quite like it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    151
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
117
224
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Yet another great stay at this hotel. Visited with my son and a friend this time. Room really practical - a double and twin interconnected by a bathroom and 'loby' area. Good service (as always) and now the weather is warming up the veranda is a great place to catch the evening sun with a drink or have a cream tea. As I have written before - NOT a chain hotel but one with great character and memories from bygone eras

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEBWeybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmendingen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Situated of the cliffs, built in the grand days, this hotel still has a special flare. We all felt instantly at home as the owner opened the doors for us on a wet windy evening. She then explained with obvious enthusiasm about the lift and the hotel, immediatly infecting us all. The boys 6&7 really enjoyed the breakfast buffet with unusually tasty bacon, sausages, and mushrooms, the coffe has a tendency to become old, so tea is the better choice of drinks. The staff were all very kind and considerate and now after 4 visits it is becoming our second home.
The proximity to the coast is great for us, 5 minutes stroll and we are on the promenade or beach searching for shells or crabbing in the old pool. Photos in the museum remind us of the hayday cliftonville and its aging old lady. They show full beaches, amusements, lifts and cafes long gone. Today it is a place of tranquility and nature, with walkers the sunbathers. The walpole Bay Hotel however is the canute, working relentlessly against the tide of decay, maintianing a silver sevice dinner, where orders are still taken in the bar, and one is invited to the table. The personal touch means it is not necessary to sign the bill, we feel really like their guests.

thank-you

The range of client s very mixed, and so intersting, with most a generation older than us, but always happy. and enjoying the obvious happiness the boys bring into the dining room.

Room Tip: dont forget the cream teas
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springburo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Just back from one night staying at this lovely old fashioned hotel. For the price of a Bed and Breakfast you get a lovely, friendly welcome from the owner and staff. Our room was clean and comfortable with a four poster bed in it's own alcove, plus small sitting room with sofa in the bay window overlooking the sea. Our evening meal was excellent, well cooked English food, and the buffet breakfast had everything, with hot food kept piping hot in serving dishes on the table. This hotel has a lovely, comfortable feel and we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LINALLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I have never been so disappointed in my life, had better value from an Etap! The staff were rude, unhelpful, and very badly dressed (scruffy looking). The room was dirty and the bath and toilet seat were full of pubic hair. When I went to complain the owner Mrs Bishop was very rude and refused all sorts of solutions, including simply having the room cleaned! My little boy also ended up with food poisoning due to the undercooked breakfast, and then we were charged a £50 cleaning bill due to him being sick from their food, yet they couldn't clean it on request! I would never stay in this hotel again or reccommend it to anyone! It was worse than something from How Clean is Your House!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Wezbkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We booked a one night stay at this hotel to help celebrate a friends birthday in the main town.

Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly and addressed me by my name, I was pleased with this as it's the little attention to detail that matters in customer service.

We were given our room key and directions to our room. As it was on the first floor we decided against the old lift and simply walked.

Our room was very pleasant looking out onto the gardens and sea. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very large. All clean and tidy with tea/coffee making facilities.

We ordered a taxi from the free reception phone without any issues.

The same work very hard manning the reception as well as the bar. I saw the lady running back and forth a lot but without any moaning etc. She genuinely seemed like all she wanted to do was please the guests.

Breakfast was excellent. We seated by a charming young lady and offered tea. Coffee is help yourself as well as all the food. It was very fresh and hot with plenty of choice.

The restuarant seemed very relaxing and again very clean.

I have to admitt I was a little concerned upon arrival as in my mind it seemed like a haunted house/hotel but pleased to say slept like a baby without seeing any ghosts!

I would strongly recommend this hotel for the price, service and quality of rooms/food.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beckyboo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway, Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel as part of a birthday celebration with friends while seeing a show at the nearby winter gardens.
The hotel is also a museum that when you walk in can be pre- judged as a pile of old craps. However when taking a minute to step back & look at what’s around you it is very charming & endearing. The atmosphere of the hotel is very relaxed & warm & the service from the staff was EXCELLENT.
The one thing this hotel deserves 100% credit for & that is on its very comfortable beds (I slept like a baby) & the cleanliness. The place was spotless. I travel to many different hotels & that’s something that they don't always get right.

I feel that reading these reviews that people sometimes pre-judge as I did but it has fantastic character, relaxed & warm atmosphere, friendly staff, very comfortable beds & the place was very clean.

I 100% recommend this hotel & thank you for your hospitality & warmth.
WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medwayadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
603 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Property: Walpole Bay Hotel
Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing